We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at the Overton Grange in the past and have always been comfortable, and whilst visiting friends in Ludlow recently we booked in and were offered a luxury room (15) which was clean and spacious with a large bathroom. However getting a shower at 8am the next morning was a big disappointment as the water pressure was low and the hot water supply barely warm - so much for the luxury bathroom.
When checking out I informed the manager that a luxury rating for a room should include hot water - he was totally unconcerned neither offering an explanation nor an apology - so much for customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Look for mid week offers and check out the shower before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dagwood055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
We sincerely apology for the inconvenience, and we confirm that the plumbing issue was addressed the same morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

The level of Service was excellent, friendly & courteous, it began when arranging the booking and throughout our stay. The Dog had joined us on our visit and was also made to feel very welcome. Both Breakfast and Dinner were of a very high standard (although dinner was a little expensive). Unfortunately we did not have time to use the Pool etc but it did look very inviting. As noted in some other reviews our room while clean & well appointed was very tired. We would consider staying again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kipper20122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your appreciative comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Overton Grange, in particular the service and friendly staff, the fine food, and the overall stay. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as a treat whilst attending a friends wedding.
The hotel from the exterior is lovely and the views all around are stunning. It's a beautiful part of England.
I wanted some where with a spa and nice food. The dinner on the Friday was lovely but there were only 4 other couples eating so it was somewhat lacking in atmosphere.
The whole hotel looks very dated and is clearly in need of a make-over. It is clean but tired looking.
The room was small and the bed was broken. We were woken up at 6am with the ceiling leaking water into the room. We asked to be moved and luckily were given another room which was actually much nicer and clearly an upgrade.
The staff were all lovely but no sign of a manager and there were only about 3 different people there who were mucking in with everything.
The spa isn't really a spa - the pool is cold - but not too bad once your in and moving. You need to warn staff if you want to use it to give them 45 minutes to heat the sauna. There are no showers in the changing rooms - there is a comunal one by the pool but I didn't want to wash myself in that as it was very open. I did have a treatment which was nice and the lady was lovely but it was very expensive for what it was. You are not supplied with towels or gowns for the spa - you must bring towels down from your room. I suspect had we asked they would have given us some but at the time we couldn't find anyone so it was just quicker to retrieve them from our room.
There was no hot water for our showers in the mornings, it was lukewarm at best.
The breakfasts were disappointing. I would thoroughly avoid ordering the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - it had been fashioned into a sort of egg volcano with smoked salmon sides.
It was more than I usually pay on a hotel so I was hoping for a treat - and didn't feel like that was what I was getting.

Room Tip: It's probably worth paying a little more for rooms as the cheaper ones are small and even more o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gunho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, we experience a small problem with the internal plumbing being a tank overflow, and this was rectified and repaired within an hour.
For the inconvenience, you were upgraded to a Superior Room, although the Hotel was full, and every effort was made to ensure that your stay remained pleasant in every way.
The Hotel offers Spa facilities in way of treatments, and the addition of an indoor swimming pool compliment the hotel facilities, sauna, changing rooms, and pool side shower, solely for the use of the hotel guests.However, the hotel is not a SPA Hotel, and is not advertised as such,and we can only apology if your expectations were somewhat misled.
The Hotel offers excellent facilities and has been awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2014/2015, and we are constantly working to improve our facilities and service, in consultation with the AA Hotel Services, and all major Tourism Organizations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited here last month as a wedding gift from a family member. The interior was very dated and the furnishings looked tired and in need of a bit of attention. We were showed to our room by a friendly member or staff, however I could not help but notice stains on the carpet (one of my pet hates) overall the room was clean and the bed was really comdortable.
We had to leave early as we had to catch an early flight, we informed members of staff of this but no alternate breakfast was suggested. My family had paid for a duluxe room and therefore I thought at the price that they paid for this staff would have offered us an alternative breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 665jessica12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your review.
we are constantly working to improve our facilities and deliver higher standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel's pool is a brat feature as is the sauna and spa, the rooms are comfortable and have good facilities, you come here for the welcoming and helpful staff and the amazing food. Breakfast was delicious as well. This hotel has a local following and rave reviews for its food, I was also impressed by the wine list, classic, and the variety of armagnac on offer. If you want to be pampered and eat great food, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All the beds are supremely comfortable as my three other friends attested, obviously you will want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinnFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Your appreciation is well received and a morale boost for our attentive staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

First the positives; good food, peaceful location and staff who try their best. Beyond that, our 3-night stay (booked by my wife through Booking.com) has left a lasting, dissatisfied impression. We paid £777 for 3 nights DBB, a high price considering the following issues:

1. The 'superior' room, with no walk-in shower, inadequate hot water (which meant we couldn't use the over-bath shower), insufficient central heating, no safe, no fridge/minibar, no Sky-tv. We had ALL of these in a hotel in Yorkshire in which we recently stayed.
2. Virtually no other guests. During our stay we saw one couple at breakfast, and on one of the evenings one couple at dinner. Not an enjoyable atmosphere, despite our almost exclusive use of the staff and kitchen (of whom we have no complaint).
3. Skeleton staff. Each day only one person covering the entire hotel, (though at two of the dinners there were two staff, just for us!). Fortunately we had trips planned; what would less sprightly guests have experienced during long, deserted days?
4. 10% service charge added to meals, which means the advertised price of £42.50 is actually £46.75. This is £10 more than similar meals we have eaten elsewhere.

If the price we paid had been 30% lower, at around £625, it would have been fair value (even with the eerie atmosphere). Interestingly, the hotel does have a 3-night-for-the-price-of-two offer midweek, which suggests they know the true worth. We were not offered this deal, even when we rang to book meal-times, because we had booked through Booking.com. I think this was remiss of the hotel.

(Finally, avoid Booking.com. There is sleight of hand in their offers because of the way they handle VAT, so you save nothing with them in the long run.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JBCWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Set in beautiful countryside the hotel has a lovely location and only a very short drive into the lovely Ludlow town (i'll come back to this). The staff are very helpful, rooms are generally good and the food is excellent! The hotel benefits from s good pool and sauna also. For those that enjoy a country style hotel of quality I would suggest avoiding Ludlow when the Amusement Fair is trailored in. How the local council can introduce the disgusting monstrosity into such a lovely town asounds me!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
950 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £99 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing