We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midweek break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Midweek break”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Excellent food and offering good value for a mid week break. Fantastic setting, large lawn area around the hotel and in a very secluded location. Hotel rooms are very well presented and kept very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Overton Grange.
We pride ourselves on excellent service, fine food, and superb surroundings.
Thank you for your contribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    82
    46
    23
    22
See reviews for
24
183
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

The occasion was special to us and, despite having not been before other than to visit and book the occasion, we chose the Overton Grange for a celebration dinner with our family. From first introducing ourselves, we were confident that our experience was the Number One priority - and boy how Team Overton delivered!

Our meals were faultless, with the chef and his team clearly being top drawer, and the service was masterful and discreetly attentive, with our needs being predicted and addressed without even the notion of needing to ask on our part.

Recommend it? The Overton Grange experience is one of life's true pleasures and treasures that has to be experienced. Fortunately for us, it is local, so we will definitely be back. Thank you to all at The Overton Grange for making our day very special.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your kind & genuine comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Overton Grange.
We were awarded Certificate of Excellence 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I really don't want to write a negative review as this hotel does have huge potential but elements that I would expect to be included in a spa hotel which this was missing include:
- no hairdryer in the room. Available upon request from reception
- no ironing facilities in room.
- minimal toiletries provided; two mini bottles and a small bar of soap
- changing room by spa unheated and very cold
- bath robes available upon request but not provided in room
- no magazines to browse around the spa
- spa area needs to be spotless; pool water needed filtering and floor not completely clean
- no water available around pool area, despite a sauna facility being there.
- room not hoovered each day
- sheets and blankets not provided. Possibly available if specifically asked for?

On the positive side, the food was absolutely the best I've ever had. Do try and get to the restaurant if you can.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L1brarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the best meal you ever had, and thank you for the recommendation.
Overton Grange is a 3* Country House Hotel, and offers complimentary Pool & Sauna facilities to the Guests with option of Treatments, but the Hotel DOES NOT market or classify as a Spa Hotel, and we can only apology for any confusion.
Hairdryer, Bath Robes, Ironing facility, sheets & blankets, and additional toiletries are available on request from Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wonderful stay in a hotel we found by pure accident. Thrilled to be so welcomed in that we travel with four dogs and the wonderful grounds were such a delight and we were made to feel that the dogs were important too. The food was amazing, a real treat and our four poster bedroom was immaculate and very comfortable. Staff were extremely attentive and totally anticipated very need without being "in your face". Loved the infused smell of wood fire which I took to be an ambience feature. Cannot understand anyone who could fault this sheer delight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lergyheggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review, and we kindly appreciate your comments.
The Hotel offers excellent facilities and has been awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2014/2015, however we do not understand the ranking. We are constantly working to improve our facilities and service, in consultation with the AA Hotel Services, and all major Tourism Organizations, in order to improve the rating and ranking of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a one night's stay. Arrival into reception and bar you are met with a musty old smell. We were shown to our room which was compact and clean with nice enough decor. Advise anyone booking to check with hotel if you have any accessibility issues as some rooms are up stairs through fire doors up another couple of stairs and around corners. Didn't eat there as set menu seemed a bit pricey. 42.50 plus ten percent service charge, but breakfast was very nice. Got back to hotel at 11.30pm for a night cap only to be told by bar man that the bar closed at 12. We ordered or our drinks and the bar was promptly closed straight after they were delivered. Overall an ok experience but no one seemed welcoming or friendly. Have no urge to stay they're again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank bestdayoftheweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast at Overton Grange. The Bar opening is not restricted to set times, and drinks are available on request as long as you may require for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just back from a weekend break at the Overton grange and found everything to be very good. Best things were quality of food, friendliness and efficiency of all staff, the relaxing swimming pool. Things which would have made it even better
the menu "extras" were a lovely touch but would have been even better if not repeated on second night
the wine list is on the expensive side

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it completely dispelled any prior reservations we may have had after reading TA reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your warm comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Overton Grange.
We pride ourselves on providing fine food, attentive service with a smile, and good customer care.
We look forward to welcoming back at Overton Grange soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at the Overton Grange in the past and have always been comfortable, and whilst visiting friends in Ludlow recently we booked in and were offered a luxury room (15) which was clean and spacious with a large bathroom. However getting a shower at 8am the next morning was a big disappointment as the water pressure was low and the hot water supply barely warm - so much for the luxury bathroom.
When checking out I informed the manager that a luxury rating for a room should include hot water - he was totally unconcerned neither offering an explanation nor an apology - so much for customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Look for mid week offers and check out the shower before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dagwood055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
We sincerely apology for the inconvenience, and we confirm that the plumbing issue was addressed the same morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Country Hotel
Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing