We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent country hotel with superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We went here for a three day mid-week break to revisit Ludlow and walk in the Shropshire hills. The hotel is ideally situated just five minutes drive from Ludlow in a blissfully quiet elevated location. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and the room was very comfortable with a good view across the gardens. Undoubtedly the star attraction at Overton Grange is the exceptionally good restaurant. Our evening meal on the day of arrival was perfect in every detail from canapes around the open fire in the bar to the refined elegance of the dining room. Every course was beautifully presented and worthy of Michelin star rating and we regretted not dining there every evening! Breakfasts were equally good and we're looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2009

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday March 7th, it was a birthday treat for me. We were in Room 15, a large luxury room with a massive bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely quiet, we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. The best thing about this hotel though is the food, it was absolutely amazing with a great wine list as too. Breakfast the next morning is very nice as well. My scrambled eggs were gorgeous!

We really enjoyed our night, the service was very friendly and we felt extremely relaxed. We'd definintely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamelaElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Over £200 in this economic climate strikes me as expensive. The room though was large, with two armchairs and a desk with its own chair. No satellite TV. No fresh milk -why cannot hotels provide this? They wouldn't serve breakfast with long-life, so why do they think we want it in our room? Bathroom was great, large and with a great deep and long bath. Weird power shower since it produced only lukewarm water, apparently deliberately, so I was told. Bath water was also lukewarm until I complained, when it was rapidly repaired. Nice, largley French staff, all bar one being female! Owner is French too, and also owns the Dinham Hall in Ludlow town. Lovely garden, although not for a connoisseur being largely laid to lawn; pity about road noise from the by-pass a mile away. Excellent public rooms, with a nice cosy sitting room designed out of a corridor in the Edwardian house conversion. Food at breakfast was very good too - but didn't get the chance to check it was as good in the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Stayed here Valentine's night, having eaten here a few years ago and been impressed. Forgot to read the Trip Advisor reviews beforehand but have read them now - and the Overton Hall management obviously read them regularly, so I would say that nothing I am going to write here isn't something I mentioned to them before we left.
Pros - Exceptionally good food, beautifully prepared and presented, and the restaurant had been very thoughtfully themed for Valentine's evening. Con - the otherwise relaxing atmosphere was spoiled by the waitresses sprinting across the restaurant on their return trips to the kitchen.
Our room, 9, one of the top priced at £240 for the night was very disappointing. No attention seemed to have been given in its planning to make it usable e.g. the only place to plug in the hairdryer was no where near the mirror, the TV couldn't be seen from the bed as it was obscured by the drapes on the 4 poster, the curtains drew across the radiator making the room cold. Bizarrely, the music centre in the room took cassettes and vinyl records but not CDs/DVDs as promised on the website. The bath was exceptionally small - I am under 5'4" and couldn't sit in the bath without bending my knees. If the room at been half the rate some of these short-fallings could be forgiven - for this price we expected better.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alibi_JX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We picked this hotel because we wanted something of a gastronomic weekend either in or very near Ludlow. Most of the reviews here had been favourable and they were offering a very good deal of two nights dinner, bed and breakfast, with the third night with breakfast free of charge. The Overton Grange is listed in the Michelin Guide (don't confuse this with a Michelin star though!).

Overton Grange is a spacious country house almost exactly two miles from Ludlow. Those two miles, by the way include a couple of hills, so if you're intending to walk to Ludlow from there you will have a reasonable trek.

The reception area is very pleasant with a tiny reception desk notably lacking ugly computer screens, and a wide staircase going to the upper floors. The breakfast room and lounge are to either side and the bar and dining room lead off from the lounge. The decor is tasteful and the thoughtful use of soft furnishings and drapes make the atmosphere friendly and welcoming. The bar is in another lounge, which has a good-sized log fire, a very comfortable large leather settee and several comfortable chairs and coffee tables. This is a good place to have tea or coffee in the afternoon or to retire to after the meal. Coffee, tea and cakes are available all day in the lounge (but not free, of course).

We had a warm, quiet room was at the front overlooking the car park, which has fields either side of it, one of which contained a flock of sheep. In fact the view at the front was more attractive than that at the back because at the rear there was just a large brown field and nothing much more. The room was a very good size (about 12 x 22 feet) with a reasonable sized bathroom en suite. The bath had only a hand-held shower attachment (though there is a hook on the wall to which it can be attached) but the pressure at the head was really not sufficient to be called a power shower, so bathing in the tub was the order of the day.

The room had two small complimentary bottles of mineral water one still and one sparkling, a touch I always appreciate and often wonder why all hotels don't do this. Most of us have to take tablets of some kind morning or evening and this really is a thoughtful touch. There is also a kettle, tea and coffee and a small cafetiere on a tray. There is also a little hi-fi and a small widescreen TV in the room, but the digital signal is so weak (about 47% apparently) that only BBC1 and BBC2 could be watched; all the others kept breaking up and were unwatchable. As it happens we only wanted to watch the news so we weren't inconvenienced.

The one really curious thing about this room was that although it was very spacious, the bed was a bit small and (for me) a little uncomfortable. I have a bad back and I awoke each morning with backache, though to be fair my wife had no problem, but she doesn't have a back problem. The bed is surprisingly small too. The usual size for a double bed is 5 feet wide or more but this one was narrower than that. I can't see any American guest being impressed with either the bed or the shower.

And so to the cuisine. When we booked we were asked whether we had any special dietary requirements (not something we are usually asked at booking time for other hotels) and we replied that we ate no meat or shellfish. When we went down for dinner on the first evening we were given our menus and were pleasantly surprised that absolutely everything on the menu was something we could eat. When we commented on this we were told that the menu had been formulated especially for us based on our requirements. They had taken the basic menu and wherever something was included that we could not eat, it was intelligently and artistically replaced by something else. Our menus were printed exactly the same as the others, just one-offs for us. We were very impressed by this, and indeed is an indication of a genuine eagerness to please, that we saw in other areas of the hotel.

We were also pleasantly surprised at the number of amuses bouche that were brought to us. To begin with there was a small platter with four delightful items, and then at the table a further complimentary little soup course was presented. We enjoyed these very much, and they added another pleasurable dimension to the meal. My only comment (without wanting to appear churlish) is that every night produced exactly the same amuses bouche, and that is a shame because the idea of this dainty addition to the meal is that it should be a surprise to amuse and delight. Therefore they should change each time ... but it's a small thing, and was very welcome.

The wine list is quite impressive, covering a number of countries' offerings, although the list didn't give the names of the grape varietals for each item, so unless you are a serious wine-buff and know the names of the growers or the negociants-eleveur, you are a little bit at sea.

Because the hotel was not very full at this time the guests that were there ate in a cosy and comfortable annexe to the dining room, which made the experience all the more pleasant. The food was very good indeed, flavoursome, beautifully presented and in appropriate sized portions.

Breakfast is served in a separate, smaller, room and was also very good. The cooked offerings were perfectly done, with such dishes as smoked haddock with poached egg, scrambled egg with smoked salmon and also kippers. There was also a full cooked English breakfast but disappointingly they didn't offer alternatives to the meat components. I would have loved to see vegetarian alternatives to the sausage, etc. but again, there was plenty to eat. Oh ... beware the dried prunes! They have the consistency of plastic and a taste to match ... very odd bearing in mind the overall standard of the cuisine.

Overall, our stay was very pleasant. The hotel itself is very well proportioned and the staff and management are very eager to please. Most of the people working there are French, and I think that the French flair in the hospitality industry is very much in evidence. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet stay with good food.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Having paid a premium price for a weekend at this hotel we were extremely disappointed and would not recommend it.The room was up in the attic, dark, old fashioned and cramped.The en-suite bathroom had a sloping ceiling which was a nightmare for the taller person.The menu was "rich" with no deviation over the weekend.The chef was not prepared to cater for a vegetarian diet although requested earlier on in the day. The evening meal was inclusive but on the second night we decided to forgo this and headed off to pay out further money at a restaurant in Ludlow. Whilst having a drink in the bar at The Overton we witnessed the manager being verbally rude to a group of customers who subsequently got up, packed their things and left.Not a happy experience.

Thank TeresaBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2009

We enquire at the time of the reservation, diners or residents, if the guests have any dietary requirements so that we are always prepared and we have a strong reputation based on past reviews to offer excellent cuisine, and even offer Degustation 9 courses menu to Vegans...Having checked our guests invoices for that weekend, we confirm that we had no vegetarians dining at Overton Grange, if fact all meat main courses invoiced on the date of the alleged stay...

Overton Grange does not and never had any attic rooms, and all suites have been refurbished over the past 24 months and offer contemporary desigh, power showers and baths, heated rail with Molton Brown Toiletries, and the Hotel has been recently inspected by the AA and Tourism Board and awarded a commendable 3 Stars 86% Merit Award, and 2 Rosettes for excellent Food and Service.

We beleive this review is not genuine and its content is malicious and not founded on true facts!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

My wife and I arrived at 3pm on a Monday to be told the restaurant was closed, as not enough people had booked. The only suggestion was to eat at their sister hotel, which we didn't know. Then found the hotel was twice as far from Ludlow as their website claimed, making walking in to the town impractical (it's also not a flat walk as they additionally claim). This meant wasted time finding an alternative restaurant, and one of us had to drive!
The room we stayed in was very nice, and the breakfast good too.
Service was variable. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, F Metzo, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2009

We are aware of the comment and responded to the guests, who made the reservation on line. A confirmation was sent to the guests with an invitation to confirm the dining requirements.

Guests checked in on 29th Dec as expected, and apology were made on arrival when
explaining that the restaurant was closed that evening due to unexpected circumstances.
However, the guests were offered the option to dine at our sister hotel, Dinham Hall
Hotel,also 2 rosettes and we offered to reserve a table at a convenient time.
The guests declined, and given the chance, we would have offered them a
complimentary taxi or bottle of wine for the inconvenience.
As for the local geography of the landscape between Ludlow and Overton Grange, the
distance is precisely 1.5 mile out of Ludlow, and we have always been praised in the past about the fantastic location and the surroundings of the Hotel, which offer amazing views and scenery...
The Hotel also enjoy an excellent reputation in all major guides, including the Michelin Guide and following our recent AA inspection, has been
awarded 3* and a commendable 86% Merit Award and 2AA Rosettes, with an exeptional
level of service and courtesy.

F Metzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
459 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
466 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
15.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £107 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing