We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best bed & breakfast ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitfield House
Ranked #3 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
S Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best bed & breakfast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the best bed & breakfast we ever have stayed in. Sarah gave us such a fabulous welcome, making us a pot of Earl Grey tea immediately on our arrival. We were impressed by her genuine warmth & concern for us. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The quality of the breakfast was truly exceptional, my wife particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit on offer, while I tucked into the deliciously cooked breakfast with its fresh ingredients. Not to mention the prize-winning marmalade on our toast at the end. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night as we were on our way to a wedding in Chester. We would heartily recommend Whitfield House & look forward to returning for a longer break.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juddldsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
96
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I can only mirror the good comments on here, We stayed at Whitfield House, Ludlow for 1 night, at the start of the "Food Festival" in September. "The Mortimer" room exceeded our expectations & Sarah and Andrew are delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Room, breakfast and location are superb. If you are planning to visit Ludlow this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

A truly wonderful stay here for the food festival. We were greeted as soon as we arrived and made to feel very welcome and at home. Our room was far bigger than we expected with our own entrance hallway and bathroom and bedroom leading off this. Plenty of wardrobe and draw space for all our things. Lovely sized room with beautiful views of the countryside and Ludlow castle. A huge bathroom with very large separate shower cubicle. Restful nights sleep with quite surroundings. Breakfast the following morning was great. Fresh fruit and juice on offer. Followed by a cooked breakfast of any combination you wanted, cooked any way you wanted. Served in a once again magnificent setting with stunning views. We were so impressed with our stay, we booked up straight away for next years festival. Cannot wait for our return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank non-stop-orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My second stay at Whitfield House, ideally located if passing through or visiting Ludlow. Sarah & Andrew are wonderful hosts, the house has wondeful views of the town and especially the castle. The breakfast is just great, using locally sourced products and a great way to start the day. In terms of going the 'extra mile' Andrew did exactly that by running us to the La Becasse restaurant (separate review) and picking us up after dinner.

Room Tip: Mortimer room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a tremendously good time in this well situated and very comfortable b&b. Sarah and Andrew couldn't have been more accomodating and made us feel very welcome. (Sarah is also a mine of information about local restaurants and attactions.) Beds were comfortable, breakfast was lovely; locally sourced and plentiful, whilst the view of the castle from the room, was picture-postcard-y. An easy 10min walk into town - very peaceful and strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Views from the back rooms of the castle and countryside are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearwood13530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at Whitfield House, Ludlow for 2 nights in August and it is the best b&b we have ever stayed in. Sarah and Andrew are delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Room, breakfast and location are superb. If you are planning to visit Ludlow this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mortimer room, a large room with sitting area, stunning views and a superb bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topsyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixtonbelle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from two lovely days & restful nights at Whitfield House.
A rather hectic work schedule had seen us end up in Birmingham in some desperate need of relaxation.
We couldn't have chosen a better remedy.
The house & our room were beautiful. Lovely bed linen, huge rain shower, fantastic cooked breakfasts
Sarah & Andrew were super helpful for tips on walks & river swimming.
Short (20mins) walk into town, slightly longer leafy lane version (30 mins) round the base of the castle.
Highlight was our Saturday evening supper. We were lucky enough to get a cancellation for Mr Underhill's on the Sunday night (see separate review) and so decided to go for something simpler for the Saturday. We ordered one of Sarah's fantastic picnics, bought along our own wine and Sarah made up the table on the terrace with linen table cloth & napkins, cutlery, wine glasses the lot.
We had just the most wonderful supper as the sun set looking out across the valley to the castle & Mortimer forest. Complete with grazing cattle & sheep and owls heard in the distance.
A fantastic tonic. Job done.

Very many thanks.
We'll be back
Sue & Howard

Room Tip: Not sure what the room was called but think it was the smaller one. Perfect for us. Great sized sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brixtonbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.8 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitfield House

Property: Whitfield House
Address: Whitfield House Burway Lane, Ludlow SY8 1DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited Free Parking. Recently renovated 1920s house in the heart of historic Ludlow set amidst two acres of garden with stunning views of the castle and surrounding countryside. Easy access to town, pubs and station. Grade **** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Whitfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitfield House Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing