We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B; marvellous views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whitfield House
Ranked #3 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ipswich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good B&B; marvellous views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

An imposing and well-furnished large house in a beautiful location. Our room had marvellous views over the garden and fields beyond, leading down to the river. There was also a fine view of the castle and church. The room itself was large with a good size bathroom (big window) and a good shower. The bed was very comfortable; but there were a few "tired" items in the room (eg the room door lock did not work properly, the curtains did not run effectively on the rail, the toilet roll holder fell apart). We received a warm welcome with freshly made tea. The room boasted several books and maps of the area and we had use of a large guests' sitting room and the attractive garden. An ultra modern fan was a useful addition. We enjoyed a good breakfast provided by a friendly and well-informed member of staff. Andrew provided candid opinions on the restaurants and inns in the town and we were able to walk comfortably (ten minutes) to a good selection of them. Our hosts were happy to let us leave our car in the drive after we had checked out, so that we could enjoy Ludlow Market.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veeseeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
96
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Took over the 3 rooms for a family reunion and had a wonderful week end. owners could not have made us feel more welcome. Large comfortable rooms with great views. Lovely house and extensive grounds offering free run of lounge and facilities. Great choice at breakfast. Short walk to town centre and enjoyed evening meals at both Wheatsheaf and Unicorn with a preference for the former. Thanks to all for a superb week end in one of the nicest towns in the UK.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently stayed three nights at Whitfield House. It is a stylish bed and breakfast....elegantly furnished, very comfortable and enjoyable. There was a warm welcome on arrival, which included tea and biscuits, and all information was provided plus OS maps to borrow of the area. The house is very well situated with a pleasant and easy walk into the centre of Ludlow where there are many good eating places, individual shops and of course the Castle. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is pretty much second to none. Fantastic way to spend a weekend. Beautiful house, beautiful room, beautiful gardens and lovely town to explore. On top of that, the friendly welcome and relaxed approach from the owners is something you sadly don't see often these days.
Highly recommend a stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Pretty much perfect. A lovely house in a very peaceful location, but only 15 minutes' walk from the town centre. We had the Lawrence room, which was almost a mini suite, with bedroom, bathroom and toilet opening off a central lobby. Fantastic views across the beautiful garden to Ludlow Castle (which is well worth a visit). We were greeted with tea/coffee and shortbread, and there were also plentiful supplies in the room. We can recommend this unreservedly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had two nights staying in the beautiful French Room which had a gorgeous rain shower and comfortable bed! A warm welcome on arrival with a tray of tea brought to our room.
Fantastic touches with a full size pack of biscuits and some Thorntons chocolates on the tea tray in the room. A fridge on the landing with fresh milk and bottled water.
Quiet situation but within 10 minutes walk of Ludlow centre. Ample on site parking.
Beautiful breakfasts with choice of cereals, fresh fruit, cooked local produce all served with a smile.
Lovely gardens with views to the castle and Andrew and Sarah are very hospital hosts - even providing us with a walking map.
Would definitely go back again and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for one night, our room had a fantastic view of the castle and church. The garden is beautiful and spent a lovely couple of hours in the garden drinking champagne. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.8 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitfield House

Property: Whitfield House
Address: Whitfield House Burway Lane, Ludlow SY8 1DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited Free Parking. Recently renovated 1920s house in the heart of historic Ludlow set amidst two acres of garden with stunning views of the castle and surrounding countryside. Easy access to town, pubs and station. Grade **** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Whitfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitfield House Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing