We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pizza!!”
Review of The Marches - CLOSED

The Marches
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Ludlow's most vibrant bar, offering stone baked pizzas with classic dishes homemade with local ingredients and a fully stocked bar with everything from coffee to cocktails.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous pizza!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Atmosphere great despite cheap decor. One or two things not available from menu, but pizzas handmade with lovely bases and lots of topping. Delicious!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
good food stands up for itself and can be enjoyed regardless of surroundings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    48
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
166 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good for a quick informal lunch”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The main speciality of The Marches is pizza, though the three of us ordered different things (fishcakes, pate, bruchetta). Food and service were both very good, portions adequate to generous, and prices fair. A reasonable choice of good wines is available. Location is convenient, being right on the main town square.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
we also do a good unhurried meal at any time of day with the same quality you enjoyed so readily at lunch, and with plenty of wine in stock we hope we can entice you into spending a relaxing evening with us at some point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Yum jerk chicken pizza with a side of rocket & parmesan salad.
The pizza was delicious & made fresh to order by the chef in full view - as the pizza oven is open view onto restaurant.

Front of house very welcoming & friendly.

Absolutely packed so lucky to be seated. Warned about a 20 minute food wait however, I don't think it was even that long. Great atmosphere.
We will gladly recommend & return.

Helpful?
Thank yourhoteladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
it's nice when you can sum up an experience in a single word, happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza and Wine”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is always difficult to find food on Sunday evening, especially Easter Sunday, so we were pleased to find The Marches was open. We booked in advance, including telling them that my wife was looking forward to a gluten free pizza (we had eaten there once before). We were told that the Pizza oven was broken, but should be mended by Sunday. Luckily it was!

As we were dining fairly casually we decided to eat sat on a comfy sofa by the window, although a reserved table had been laid for us. We had a very enjoyable pizza each, one gluten free and one cheese free. This was accompanied by a lovely bottle of Malbec, which was well priced for the quality.

An unhurried well cooked meal, with good wine, and a special mention for the wonderful music which turned out to be the chef/owner's own playlist. With such excellent musical taste (including America by The Nice) the food was bound to be good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
it's always nice to hear the music appreciated as much as the food and drink, though i must admit i had to leave some of the more obscure tracks from my collection out of the playlist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This restaurant certainly knows how to 'do' pizza!! Great choices and very good value for money - especially the offer from Monday to Wednesday on the pizza. I have visited twice and enjoyed both visits - the sweet potato chips are fantastic! Next time I will try something off the other menu. Great food, well done!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
we've just launched our summer menu so we hope you'll visit soon to sample it's offerings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marches also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing