We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best holidays ever!”

Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We organise over 30 great Cycling Holidays and Walking Holidays in Shropshire, Herefordshire, Wales & the Wye Valley we also offer Cycle Hire by the day (or week) and cycling maps. Cycling and Walking holidays - All our cycling holidays and walking holidays start from our base at Petchfield Farm, in the Teme Valley near the historic town of Ludlow. Our most popular cycling holiday tours are "The Quietest Cycle tour under the Sun" "Shropshire Castles cycle tour" "Lon Las Cymru -Welsh National Cycle route" and "The Radnor Ring Cycle Tour". We organise walking holidays on The Mortimer Trail, Offa s Dyke, The Shropshire Way, Glyndwr's Way and Wild Edric's Way. The cycling holidays include; excellent bikes, quality accommodation, maps & route guides, luggage transfers parking and full back up. Cycle Hire - Our Cycle Hire base at Petchfield Farm provides quality bikes for all the family (including trailer bikes and tandems), and our unique route maps. We are open every day between Easter and October (Sundays by appointment) between 9am & 5pm. We also sell cycling maps. Ring to book your bikes.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best holidays ever!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have hired bikes twice now from Wheely - the first time for a day and then for a three day holiday. Both times were absolutely brilliant and I can't praise Kay and Chris enough. Fantastic bikes, superb routes, every detail considered and both incredibly lovely, friendly people! Shropshire has been a real discovery for us this year and touring around by bike has been the perfect way to explore during two short holidays. The three day hire was absolutely seamless, with our bags being transported for us between excellent b&bs so that all we needed to carry was our lunch. We are both fairly experienced casual cyclists and were looking for something enjoyable rather than challenging. We chose the Kerry Ridgeway route and enjoyed every minute of the stunning views, charming tea rooms and historic sites we passed through. High recommend for either the short or longer hires!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank pedel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay D, Owner at Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks for this great review. Shropshire and the Welsh borders are one of those areas people pass through on their way elsewhere….they just don’t know what they are missing. The scenery is great , history & architecture second to none, people have time to talk and because it is a traditional farming area – the food is wonderful… just what the cyclist ordered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY, EFFICIENT SERVICE”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I organised a 3 day cycling tour for 12 people with Wheely Wonderful. The service we received from start to finish was excellent. Chris and Kay helped us with selecting the best route through Shropshire, the Welsh Hills and back through Herefordshire avoiding busy roads and taking in the best pubs and cafes en route. They booked the accommodation for us and ensured our luggage was efficiently transported from one location to another. And they were most welcoming both when we dropped our cars off to start the tour and afterwards when we were able to enjoy tea and cake before making our way home. If you're looking to organise a cycling or walking trip to this beautiful part of the country, then I would thoroughly recommend them.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Colli39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay D, Owner at Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
It was a real pleasure to put together the holiday for you… fitting in all your groups needs. We can do this with any of our holidays – because we have cycled all over this area ourselves – working out the best routes for cyclists….and of course we know the best places to stay and eat & drink en route…. Your group combined our Welsh Borders and Wye Valley Cycle Tours – brilliant cycling area – so little traffic and such great scenery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great walking holiday”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A good walking break. A lovely welcome on arrival and good choice of accommodation and walking routes

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Helen68Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay D, Owner at Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
This was a holiday based on a short section of the Offa’s Dyke Trail (just right if you don’t want to walk the whole 177miles of the Trail). Ideal for getting a feel for the fantastic Offa’s Dyke earthwork and definitely for getting away from the crowds. It’s a great feeling ( a real sense of adventure) descending down into the Clun Valley for your overnight stop at a remote inn on the first night and then down to the vibrant market town of Bishops Castle for your final night stop. Knowing that a hot bath & your bags are waiting….not to mention the two breweries at Bishops Castle & Great puddings at the Castle Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write the review – its much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second cycling holiday with wheely wonderful. What an experience! We saw parts of England that we would never have ventured into and the villages and hamlets were breathtaking. Our holiday was spoilt somewhat by illness but that was obviously nothing to do with wheely wonderful. Will we book again? Absolutely!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank loutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay D, Owner at Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks for the great review – it was good to see you again. The Wye Valley Cycle tour has a great mix of a challenge and reward. The challenge of cycling 40 miles on day 2 – and the reward of a great overnight stop in Hay on Wye & a leisurely cycle back through the Black & White villages with all their teashops & inns. Did you stop at the Station tearoom at Erwood? Its always a welcome sight – at the end of the long downhill stretch from Glascwm. Look forward to seeing you next Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short walking break”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Three of us booked an easy two day walking break around Ludlow. Booking was easy and Kay was very helpful. The first night's accommodation wasn't great, but the second, an hotel in Ludlow, was much better. The walking was good although we did get lost on the first day - a phone call to Wheely Wonderful put us straight (and we none of us knew how to use the compass....). All together, the break was a good experience and I would book again.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay D, Owner at Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
It’s a beautiful walk through Mortimer Forest and the Teme valley, with brilliant views across to the Black Mountains in Wales. – and a great excuse for a short weekend break with friends – especially as you end up in lovely Ludlow. Your second night was spent at The Feathers Hotel in the centre of Ludlow – a very historic building with spacious rooms & spa baths – just the thing to rest aching legs. Thanks for the review & come back & try one of our other walking breaks soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays also viewed

 

Been to Wheely Wonderful Cycling Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing