We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We chose this hotel for a 3 night business/ pleasure break. It is situated just on the outskirts of Ludlow and a 10 minute walk to the town (but must be fairly fit) We were met by the owner Helen and shown to our room. It was spotless and tastefully decorated with all the things required. Breakfast was well presented an varied to cover most tasts, Bar meals were excellent and varied and you could also choose to eat in the dining rooms if you wished. All staff were very friendly and we could not fault the service. We can certainly recommend this hotel and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoonrakerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

It was good to know that the hotel met your requirements. Thank you for writing such a positive review. It will be nice to see you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for a combination of birthday and wedding anniversary! We like a hotel that is quiet at night (both inside and out) and so prefer not to stay in the middle of a town. This hotel is a steady, largely uphill 15 minute walk to Ludlow town centre but we had no qualms about that. We brought our Westie with us as the hotel, in common with most pubs and restaurants we visited in Ludlow, is pet friendly. In fact the hotel lists Megan, a black labrador, as Security! The room we had was on the first floor with lovely views over to the castle. Very comfortable and thoroughly clean. We also appreciated the navy blue blinds in the room as these gave an effective blackout when down. Breakfasts were included and were excellent. Full breakfasts were cooked to order - far better than the buffet breakfasts in large hotels as a result. Will certainly book again if we are back in Ludlow.

Room Tip: We stayed in a larger room (room 1) which had lovely views over the gardens and to the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wirralonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Cliffe Hotel. I am pleased the location suited your requirements. Hope you'll stay with us again if you come back to Ludlow in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Cliffe Hotel is just outside the main town of Ludlow, across the river from the castle. It is a 10 minute walk to the castle and market square. However, it is a steep walk into town from the hotel that would not suit someone who isn't relatively fit.

The staff at the Cliffe were very welcoming and helpful. The en suite room (a large double in our case) was comfortable and spacious and well appointed with tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, etc. Also, the hotel provided free Wifi which worked well for us. We had cooked breakfast each day and an evening meal in the hotel restaurant. All the food was very good and served in a friendly and helpful manner. The hotel was very clean with very good service. Slight negatives were the shower which was a little weak and difficult to control its temperature, and the room door lock didn't feel very secure and needed a strong push/pull to ensure it had engaged fully. Nevertheless, we'd strongly recommend it as a place to stay in Ludlow.

Ludlow has some steep and very narrow roads that make it a challenge to drive around. After trying various routes from the hotel to the A49 (the main route to other attractions outside Ludlow), we found that the roundabout route (Lower Wood Road and Whitcliffe Road) that includes 2 quite sharp hairpin bends and a fairly steep descent was the best.

Ludlow is a lovely place to visit with an interesting castle and some great old buildings. There are markets on most days and plenty of shops to wander around. There are many eateries available, but the 2 we liked the most were the Rose & Crown and the Church Inn, both providing excellent food with a great pub atmosphere. The Rose & Crown (officialpubguide.com/pubdetails.php?pubid=442) does some great meals and includes free Wifi. The Church Inn (www.thechurchinn.com/) offers a superb range of pie meals that are truly excellent and an extensive range of interesting beers.

Shrewsbury is about 45 minutes drive North of Ludlow and Hereford is a similar drive to the South (the A49 provides the main North-South road to both places). Both are well worth visiting if you're staying in Ludlow.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

It was kind of you to write such a comprehensive review of your stay at the Cliffe. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Excellent choice for Lundlow town - around 10 minutes riverside walk. Perfect and tranquil setting very peaceful. Stayed in room 1 which was very comfortable and spacious with dual aspect views onto open countryside and Ludlow Castle, recently refurbished bathroom and comfy white linen bed sheets - just how I like it! Breakfast Has limited choice but was nicely presented and very well cooked!
Walk into Ludlow is uphill so you might need a car if mobility is limited.
Lovely relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Room number 1 is spacious with lovely views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay in room 1 and glad you thought it was good value. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a very good stay for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a view of the Castle and was spotless, spacious and tastefully decorated. Dinner was good value at £16 for 2 courses, and of a good standard. We found Ludlow an excellent base for walking, and a charming town to walk round. We would strongly recomment this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EwennyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Your positive comments were much appreciated. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel may not be the biggest in Ludlow but it is by far the best I have stayed in so far in this part of the world.

From arriving in the spacious car park, the welcome is friendly and inviting. I was met by the Hotel's lovely black labrador who also doubles up as security.

The bedroom I had for my one night stay (Room 1) was spacious, clean and very comfortable.

The bar/restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.

The restaurant menu is good value and the food delicious. Breakfast is also excellent.

The walk into Ludlow is easy and takes about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Discuss your particular requirements with the owner Helen Jones when making a reservation. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r_smith640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

It was very kind of you to write such a lovely review. We hope you'll come and stay at The Cliffe again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stopped 2 nights b .and b ,no complaints,short uphill walk into Ludlow.Nice change from the chain hotels i normally stay in,young staff are a credit to the hotel.Ludlow is full of over priced places, advise you book in advance.

Room Tip: No lift,if you are less mobile ask for first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandsue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your 2 night stay. Weekends are always busy so, as you say, best to book in advance - especially if you want a room with a castle view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
913 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow
The Cliffe At Dinham Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing