We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Ludlow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

In the country but only about 10 minutes walk from town centre. Friendly welcome and bright clean public rooms. Large,well furnished bedroom with views of countryside and castle. Recently refurbished bathroom. Freshly cooked breakfast using local produce and good evening meals in the bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmn277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

It was kind of you to write such a great review. Your comments were much appreciated. Thank you. If you come to Ludlow in the future we hope you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had a warm welcome at the Cliffe Hotel.

Our room was a decent size, and had a wonderful view of Ludlow Castle. The room was nicely decorated and the only thing missing was somewhere to sit with a mirror. The bed was rather soft and the walls were very thin.

The bathroom was a bit of a let down. It was tiny! The toilet seat was broken and loose, and the lid tried to eat us every time we sat on it. The shower was made for midgets, but to be fair, it had good water pressure and was lovely and hot.

The facilities here are good, although it felt a bit like a theme hotel for pensioners. The décor was old fashioned , but homely. There is a bar, a residents lounge, a restaurant and an outdoor area.

The bar was pretty deserted in the evening, but the two delightful girls serving kept us entertained and we had a lovely time chatting to them.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing due to the tinned fruit ( prunes for the oldies!) and weak coffee, but the cooked breakfast was delicious.

We felt that this hotel lived up to his title downstairs, but was more like a cheap B& B upstairs.

We personally wouldn't return as we felt that hotel standards were not maintained consistently throughout the premises. We have stayed at B&B's with a far higher standard of guest room for less money. Obviously they didn't have the hotel facilities, but they paid far more attention to providing wonderful accommodation and a higher standard and variety of breakfast choices.

We would, however, recommend it to older travellers who like to have everything under one roof.

We would also like to applaud the friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank europaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Thank you for the candid review of your one night's stay at the hotel. I weighed up your pros and cons and thank you for your positive comments and rating of 4 out of 5.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I went to a wedding reception at Ludlow Castle so needed somewhere to stay. Being about 8 minutes walk from the centre this was perfect. The hotel is small, but very comfortable. My friends are in their early 30's and it was nice to see a mix of ages staying at the hotel and it was nice and quiet. You get a key to get back in at night which helped with the late finish! The rooms were immaculate, again small but very comfortable and including everything you need. The owner was very courteous and made a fantastic breakfast in the morning. All in all, very affordable, great location and lovely hotel. Could not have asked for more and would recommend for anyone visiting Ludlow.

Room Tip: I had room 6 which had a fantastic view of the castle if you want a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

I'm pleased the hotel met all the requirements for your stay in Ludlow. Glad you liked the breakfast and the view of the castle. Room 6 has just had new furniture so still small but even nicer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Only stayed for one night on way back from herefordshire,but it ticked all the right boxes for us both.
As soon as we arrived,we where made to feel at home & first impressions are so important,the rooms all over the hotel are spotless & all seem to have a good feeling about them.
Helen the owner,is a charming lady who appears genuine & enjoy,s the guests the only let down is that she is a member of a Acappella musical group(they all seemed to drink a lot)ha-ha
Having eaten at night,i must say the food was superb & the prices where very good,compared to a lot of eateries in Ludlow.
We also enjoyed the company of Ria & Gareth(not sure if the name is right--i know it begins with a G---sorry if it is wrong) who kept us entertained thro out the night.Thank-you all

Room Tip: we stayed in room,4 over looking the fields---very chic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

You are too kind! It was lovely meeting you both. Gwyn didn't mind that you forgot his name. Look forward to seeing you again...with friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We needed to get away after losing our 14 year old terrier (yes some dog owners DO take it hard) but didnt want to go too far so we decided very last minute on Ludlow. Then I found this excellent hotel on lastminute.com! We weren't disappointed and our room was lovely, looking out to the castle. The room was clean, tidy and warm with an extra heater provided if it was to get very cold. It was a wet, cold weekend so we did use it a couple of times but had to turn it off after about 10 minutes as it was so efficient! The walk into the town was short and not too arduous and great after the excellent and filling full English breakfast. The cooked breakfast consisted of fresh and local products and was really lovely.This really was a good find and is a hidden gem - very peaceful.
Indeed we fared better then those staying in town with the awful funfair set up in the square. Who ever allows that to pitch up there should be shot as it was obscuring many fine buildings and must be a nuisance.
Our only disappointment was not being able to find Helen to say cheerio and thanks. We didn't like to ring the bell and disturb anyone as it was a busy time. However we'll be coming there again at some point so will do it then :) We came home thoroughly refreshed and renewed anyway, so thanks to Helen and all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 7 - brilliant view across to the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mootiemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

I'm so sorry I missed you when you left as I also would have liked to say cheerio. It was lovely meeting you both. I'm pleased the trip was a little distraction from your sadness. We would love to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived on a wet, miserable afternoon and were immediately made to feel 'at home' with a warm welcome. This small hotel is spotlessly clean - eveything shon (except the sun!). Being a Sunday the restaurant was closed but the bar menu was excellent and suited us. The food was prepared and served very quickly. Breakfast was a delight with locally sourced produce.
The staff were most friendly and very attentive. All in, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a larger room - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batts54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.....in spite of the weather! Hope you'll come and stay with us again when the sun shines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We chose this hotel for a 3 night business/ pleasure break. It is situated just on the outskirts of Ludlow and a 10 minute walk to the town (but must be fairly fit) We were met by the owner Helen and shown to our room. It was spotless and tastefully decorated with all the things required. Breakfast was well presented an varied to cover most tasts, Bar meals were excellent and varied and you could also choose to eat in the dining rooms if you wished. All staff were very friendly and we could not fault the service. We can certainly recommend this hotel and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoonrakerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

It was good to know that the hotel met your requirements. Thank you for writing such a positive review. It will be nice to see you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
951 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
846 reviews
4 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £76 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow
The Cliffe At Dinham Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing