We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Welcoming and quality”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very warm welcome, good sized double room, great breakfast. Although it is 15 mins from Ludlow centre I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_SWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Your positive comments were much appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    154
    35
    9
    8
See reviews for
56
247
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bordon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Could go on for hours saying nice things about this hotel but to sum up our three day stay- welcome-great, room-great, breakfasts-great,evening meals-great,staff-great,owner-great,location-great! I suspect you may realise we were impressed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEGBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Great review as well! So a great big thank you from us all at The Cliffe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Really nice time. Clean rooms, nice bar and right by the pretty river. Staff nice and the rooms looked just like the photographs which is a change. Good. Very happy will use again.

Room Tip: You can see the castle from the room I slept in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DR Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at The Cliffe for 3 nights (as a group of 12 cyclists) to enjoy the great scenery around this part of Shropshire. The rooms were comfortable and Helen and her team made us welcome with good, tasty food served promptly by friendly staff. Breakfast was superb with plenty of tea/coffee; the cooked breakfasts were delivered efficiently; the quality was consistently good every day - something that many hotel chains find hard to achieve.

The location was superb - just outside the town and a 10 minute walk across the narrow bridge over the Teme with great views of the castle walls; up the short hill, round the corner and you're in the centre of this lovely town.

The shower over the bath in room 8 could not deliver a reliable stream of water at a consistent temperature and had a peculiar pulsing action which could not be altered but he room was most comfortable with twin beds. 2 armchairs and plenty of storage space.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2077richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We enjoyed hosting your party and I am pleased you had a comfortable stay at The Cliffe. Thank you for writing such a positive review. My apologies for the temperamental shower - never perfect when everyone is using water at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The friendliness of the welcome and the standard of service at the Cliffe Hotel is up with best we have experienced in 25 years of global travel. The staff felt like family. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was snug and very comfortable with a view of Ludlow Castle. The breakfast was generous enough to keep us going all day and the home cooked meals in the evening were just right after day out in the Shropshire countryside. We stayed for 8 days ending on the Jubilee weekend so we couldn’t mail our extra gear home. Even when there was problem with postage Helen cheerfully repackaged and posted for us after the holiday weekend was over and we were already in France. A thousand thanks to Helen, Lizzie and all the staff at the Cliffe Hotel and extra thanks to Megan for looking after security (see the other blogs)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpudsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
I expect you will be home long before your boots arrive after their sea journey. It was lovely meeting you both. Hope you had exciting adventures on your travels. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights, and enjoyed our stay very much. We opted for one of the larger rooms (room 2) and it was great. A sofa, dressing table with chair, wardrobe and chest of drawers, so plenty of space to put your clothes away. Very clean, a bonus was having a bath, with shower. Only 2 negatives to say - the water pressure was low, so took a while to get the shampoo out of my hair. Also, the lack of net curtains - as the main window overlooks a "lodge park homes" - so had to keep the blind drawn until we were dressed. The breakfast was of a high standard, and came out promptly once ordered. We didnt eat in the hotel as we prefer to go out and try local places. The best one we had was as The Charlton Arms.

There is plenty of car parking which is a huge bonus, as a lot of the other Guest Houses that I looked at in town didn't have parking. The hotel is near the river, and it is a very pretty walk into town. Ludlow is a very traditional "old worlde" town. What was a nice surprise was that there were no chain restaurants at all - I think they must not be allowed. A good base to explore the surrounding area. Thanks to Helen and her team - well done!

Room Tip: If staying for more than 1 night it may be worth paying the extra for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the hotel. Your comments were much appreciated. I had recently added new furniture to room 2 so it was good to have your feed back. Hope you'll come and stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is an ideal hotel to stay and explore Ludlow and surrounding area. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk to the town centre and castle yet located in open countryside. Excellent value for money, extremely clean throughout and good food best to be taken in the bar area. Very polite, courteous and smart staff, Helen has a superlative team and they have a great sense of humour. Our favourite was Megan, head of security and you must visit the hotel to discover the secret identity.

We will "bee" back very soon.

Room Tip: Any room, they all have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
You are very kind! It was great to meet you both and we will definitely 'bee' looking forward to your next visit (so will Megan).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Property: The Cliffe at Dinham
Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow
The Cliffe At Dinham Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing