We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for any kind of visit to Ludlow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have been staying here for a family reunion weekend for the last 7 years in the middle of June. We take up 8 of the rooms and have breakfast and dinner together as a group. The hotel is very well located for a visit to Ludlow and it is only a 10 minute walk to the town. The hotel is very friendly, the food is excellent and everywhere is very clean and well organised. The bar has a good range drinks including real ales. Being an old building the rooms are all different but they have the good facilities including TV, wireless Internet and tea and coffee making set. The only downside is no lift.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliffprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

It's always great to see you all. Thank you for your kind comments. See you all again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel is situated 10mins walk from the centre of Ludlow and there is plenty of parking for guests.
When we arrived we were allocated a twin ensuite room on the first floor. The room was not large but was quiet, very clean and had everything you could need for your stay ie; hairdryer, hot drinks tray, telephone, tv, luggage rack and fitted wardrobe. The ensuite shower room was large and clean and the shower worked very well.
We did not have an evening meal but the breakfast was very good and contained many locally sourced ingredients.
Overall, we enjoyed our short visit to Ludlow and our comfortable stay at the Cliffe Hotel. It is very good value for money and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Glad you enjoyed your short visit to Ludlow and that you had a comfortable stay at the Cliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I booked for our engineer who was working in the area and was not disappointed. Fantastic good home cooked food and reasonable prices. Clean comfortable accommodation and great service. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

I'm pleased the hotel met your requirements. Thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stopped here for one night, the owner was really friendly and helpful. Dog friendly. 5 minute walk from ludlow.
if you want to relax this is the place.
We would stay here again. ..
.....................................................................

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucko1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Glad you had a relaxing stay at the hotel. I think you jogged into town! Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a lovely, quiet little hotel which is a ten-minute walk from Ludlow castle. I cannot praise the staff too highly. Everyone from manageresses to cleaning ladies was happy, helpful and very professional.

Breakfast was first class. Bedrooms are comfortable but simply furnished. Shower was adequate but not special and the bar area lacked character.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 654GregP654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

I will pass your praises on to the staff. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Having read previous reviews, we were really looking forward to our stay. When we arrived the greeting was almost non-existent. We were not asked our names, it was assumed who we were.
Our room was pointed out to us. We were asked if we wanted dinner that night. We said about 7.30 after being told it was busy that night. That was OK but when we came down the restaurant was in darkness, so we eat our meal in the bar, which was fine but why did we have to book?
The room was OK, a bit tired looking, the view to the castle great. Small point but there were mouldy tea-bags left in the teapot.
The walk into Ludlow is beautiful. Been warned the last part is up-hill. Of course down-hill on the way back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniewChessington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

I'm sorry you were a 'bit disappointed' as we have lots of positive comments from guests. I was away during your stay a fortnight ago, which was unfortunate as I could have addressed the issues you mentioned while you were here. Hope you have some nice memories of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We recently had a 2 night mid week stay here for a family re-union (family from Canada & around the UK) taking 5 of the bedrooms. Good spotlessly clean bedrooms plus friendly & efficient staff were very positive aspects. All the food we had was very tasty & coupled to decent local Real Ale served in the pleasant bar will ensure we always stay here when visiting this area.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 1 was large & had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_LindaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for all your lovely comments here and in my visitors book. We all enjoyed hosting your family reunion and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
935 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
4 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £74 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow
The Cliffe At Dinham Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing