We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stopped at this Hotel 23 /24 Sept 2013 We had a great time, plenty to do in the area . Nice friendly Hotel. Staff polite helpfull and willing to go out of their way to please. Food very very nice, I particularly enjoyed the mushrooms on my breakfast and my wife said her scambled egg was lovely. ( she had,nt tasted any as nice. ) Abit upset about that as I love cooking and add a bit of cheese when I make it. Helen (the owner ) makes sure she speaks to everyone, and vist;s the bar at night for a chat. nice views from Hotel. Megan head of security, can be bought off with a ( doggy ) biscuit. Downside wanted 4 day break could only get 2 as Hotel fully booked. If you want a weekend stop 3 months waiting list, Thats saying something, but can always hope for a cancellation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher_gunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments about your stay last week. Megan gets spoiled by everyone....very attention seeking! More spaces as Autumn approaches so do phone for availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    154
    35
    9
    8
See reviews for
56
247
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is in a peaceful area about 800 yards from the centre of Ludlow. There is a steep walk into Ludlow from the hotel up a 1in 4 hill, but take it slowly and it's worth it.
We stayed in room 3, a standard twin room which had a good shower cubicle. The room was quite small but adequate for a weekend. Others of our party has the luxury of room 1, a large double room which very large with a bath and separate walk in shower.
The beds were extremely comfortable as was the hotel in general, and the staff were very friendly. The bar served a good variety drinks including 2 local ales on draft which were very well kept. Be warned, if you want a drink at the hotel bar and have been into Ludlow for the evening, be back before 10.00pm as if there is no-one in the bar by 10.00 it will close.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 in very good and room 2 looked similar from a very short glimpse into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your review. As you say there is a bit of a hill to climb into the town but always downhill on your return. I'm pleased you found the hotel staff were friendly and the beds comfortable. If we have a quiet evening in the bar we do close early between 10.30 and 11.00pm but drinks can always be left in the lounge for guests if you pre-order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We recently made a return trip to Ludlow and stayed once again at the Cliffe Hotel (see my previous review). It's quiet, clean and efficient and the owner and staff are polite, friendly and eager to please, making this an ideal base for a stay in this area. If you want a 'boutique' hotel experience then this probably isn't the place for you, but if you appreciate traditional service and value for money, it certainly is. I will no doubt return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for returning to stay at The Cliffe. I'm pleased you were not disappointed. I aim to offer good service and good value for money in a clean and friendly hotel (with limited facilities..hence 2 AA stars!) Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Small hotel with friendly staff.We stayed at double en suite room which was nicely decorated and big enough :) have to point on excellent room service :) we had our dog with us and the hotel is well located for walks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misheluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay on the really busy weekend of the Ludlow Food Festival. The quiet location is great for walks but not too far to walk into town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

my mother & i spent two nights here in the spring .i don't like to write bad reviews but i think it's necessary to redress the balance as this hotel gets so many good reviews.on arrival all we noticed was the pungent smell of stale beer from the downstairs bar.despite having told them the my mother is 79 & not able to walk very far we were put in a room on the second floor(no lift),there are also quite a few steps up to the hotel entrance.the room was clean but not somewhere you would want to leave a comfortable home to stay in.breakfast was good but there are much nicer places to stay in ludlow

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
What a shame you didn't mention your concerns when you stayed all those months ago. I do like to address issues with guests while they are here. Rooms booked by guests are described in their confirmation letter so my apologies if you booked through an agency and didn't receive this information. The hotel e-brochure also describes the rooms (and mentions the lack of a lift). Always best to phone the hotel for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We/ spent one night here whilst visiting ludlow food festival .it
The standard room was very comfortable and was good value for money.plenty of choice at breakfast . The owner was very friendly .we would certainly use the cliffe again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments from your stay yesterday. I'm pleased you found the accommodation good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My friend and I spent three days in Ludlow and stayed at the Cliff Hotel. We were made very welcome, the staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel itself was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, as was the steak we had at dinner. Special thanks goes to Megan (a gorgeous black Labrador) who was in charge of security; she did a sterling job!

Room Tip: Room at the front have a lovely view of Ludlow Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin_lewis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I will pass your special thanks on to Megan.....extra biscuit! Many thanks for your kind words. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable few days in Ludlow and hope you'll stay at The Cliffe again if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Property: The Cliffe at Dinham
Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow
The Cliffe At Dinham Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing