We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressingly bad for the price point.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Depressingly bad for the price point.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This could be a lovely hotel one day if it had some money spent on it. As a Londoner I would say it falls way short of the quality you would expect these days and is very poor value if you're paying anything like full rate. If you're wanting to feel pampered on a long weekend break this is not for you.
minus points
- a sort of stale old food smell hits you as soon you walk into the hallway and follows you round until you exit the building again. if you have a sense of smell you will be glad to leave it behind when you check out.
- the décor is both tired and old fashioned - flock wall paper - fire doors containing those institutional looking wired glass windows. I heard from a friend this used to be a youth hotel and not much seems to have changed since then..
- the rooms may vary a little but ours had all the electrical wiring in a plastic covers outside the wall to the plugs and for 3 it was very cramped. The décor is best described as random - the door to the room, the bathroom and the only cupboard were all painted different colours for example!

plus points
-the owner seems nice and appears to be doing her best but cant make the changes needed.
-the staff especially at breakfast are great and the breakfast itself is very nice - probably the best thing about the place.
-although a good walk from town ( over the river and up a steep hill) it is a nice scenic route to the town and castle.
-the building and grounds could be lovely if some money was spent
- the photography of the rooms is fabulous and very flattering.
-Maybe some of the rooms for one or 2 people are better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
It was interesting to see that you wrote your review 11 months after your visit!

Exciting news: Refurb of bar and lounge areas in 2014 and addition of ground floor letting room. Hope you'll come and see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    163
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
57
261
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked the hotel for 2 nights for myself, my wife and one child. We were given a family room which was tiny. There were 2 single beds and a camp bed crammed so close that the path to the toilet and door were chronically obstructed. In the event of a fire rapid exit would be difficult. The room overlooked the back of the hotel and not the castle. The hotel was very quiet. It's hard to imagine a larger room was not available. The shower was weak and of variable temperature. All this for £100 per night.

On the plus side the place was clean and tidy. The cooked breakfast was good and the walk up the hill to the castle was pleasant. These were the only reasons I have given this hotel 3 rather than 2. There are certainly better options in Ludlow at similar prices. We have stayed at a number of small hotels in England and this was the least impressive at the price point.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm afraid both the double family rooms were booked for the first night of your stay but you could have moved into room 1 or 2 had you mentioned your grievance to me while you were here. Sadly not all 9 rooms have castle views but we do try to accommodate requests if you mention when you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Really good small hotel (9 rooms). Plenty of parking. Food cooked for a dinner of 14 from a reduced menu very good. Rooms a nice size and well laid out. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast - one of my measures of a hotel - was very good indeed, and again the service was brill. The only downside, because of its position built onto side of hill, it would not be suitable to wheelchair users.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We enjoyed having your party at the hotel this weekend. I'm pleased you enjoyed breakfast.
Hotel not suitable for wheelchair users at the moment......but new accommodation coming soon so telephone in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stopped at this Hotel 23 /24 Sept 2013 We had a great time, plenty to do in the area . Nice friendly Hotel. Staff polite helpfull and willing to go out of their way to please. Food very very nice, I particularly enjoyed the mushrooms on my breakfast and my wife said her scambled egg was lovely. ( she had,nt tasted any as nice. ) Abit upset about that as I love cooking and add a bit of cheese when I make it. Helen (the owner ) makes sure she speaks to everyone, and vist;s the bar at night for a chat. nice views from Hotel. Megan head of security, can be bought off with a ( doggy ) biscuit. Downside wanted 4 day break could only get 2 as Hotel fully booked. If you want a weekend stop 3 months waiting list, Thats saying something, but can always hope for a cancellation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher_gunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments about your stay last week. Megan gets spoiled by everyone....very attention seeking! More spaces as Autumn approaches so do phone for availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is in a peaceful area about 800 yards from the centre of Ludlow. There is a steep walk into Ludlow from the hotel up a 1in 4 hill, but take it slowly and it's worth it.
We stayed in room 3, a standard twin room which had a good shower cubicle. The room was quite small but adequate for a weekend. Others of our party has the luxury of room 1, a large double room which very large with a bath and separate walk in shower.
The beds were extremely comfortable as was the hotel in general, and the staff were very friendly. The bar served a good variety drinks including 2 local ales on draft which were very well kept. Be warned, if you want a drink at the hotel bar and have been into Ludlow for the evening, be back before 10.00pm as if there is no-one in the bar by 10.00 it will close.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 in very good and room 2 looked similar from a very short glimpse into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your review. As you say there is a bit of a hill to climb into the town but always downhill on your return. I'm pleased you found the hotel staff were friendly and the beds comfortable. If we have a quiet evening in the bar we do close early between 10.30 and 11.00pm but drinks can always be left in the lounge for guests if you pre-order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We recently made a return trip to Ludlow and stayed once again at the Cliffe Hotel (see my previous review). It's quiet, clean and efficient and the owner and staff are polite, friendly and eager to please, making this an ideal base for a stay in this area. If you want a 'boutique' hotel experience then this probably isn't the place for you, but if you appreciate traditional service and value for money, it certainly is. I will no doubt return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for returning to stay at The Cliffe. I'm pleased you were not disappointed. I aim to offer good service and good value for money in a clean and friendly hotel (with limited facilities..hence 2 AA stars!) Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Small hotel with friendly staff.We stayed at double en suite room which was nicely decorated and big enough :) have to point on excellent room service :) we had our dog with us and the hotel is well located for walks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misheluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay on the really busy weekend of the Ludlow Food Festival. The quiet location is great for walks but not too far to walk into town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
889 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Property: The Cliffe at Dinham
Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow
The Cliffe At Dinham Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing