We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the shadow of the castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffe at Dinham
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a small hotel just on the outside of the castle walls on the other side of the river Teme. The staff (including the hotel owner - Helen) were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, looking towards the castle (which unfortunately is mostly hidden by the neighbouring trees.). The double bed could have been bigger though. The bathroom with walk in shower was up too the standard expected - although there was a lack of shelf space by the sink. It was incredibly quiet, partly due to the location and partly due to the excellent double glazing.
The breakfast was good, although it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit salad available.
We had the bar snacks in the evening which were very disappointing -avoid the "onion bargees", although the guests and visitors from the adjacent caravan park all seemed to enjoy the restaurant meals that they had ordered.
The walk into town takes about 15 m minutes starts along the river - with lovely views - but then you have a steep walk up to the town.
Although this is not one of our criteria, it does not look suitable for anybody needing wheelchair access.
In summary a great place to stay if ever you visit Ludlow - we would certainly go back

Room Tip: Get a room looking towards the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased you were mostly pleased with your stay. I am having a ground floor letting room added to the hotel early next year which may be of interest to other guests. Please telephone for details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Clean, warm, welcoming, good breakfast, comfortable room. Situated just outside the town parking is not a problem. no a lot more you can say really, an enjoyable stay in a well run hotel.Try it you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Many thanks for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights in The Cliffe Hotel for our first wedding anniversary. The hotel is located just outside the town, which is only a 10 min walk away. My wife and I enjoyed this walk and there is a lovely view of the castle. We were in room 7. The rooms were clean and cosy just what we wanted, and the staff were excellent. We were allowed to check in early as well, at no extra cost! The breakfast was supurb and came very quickly. So glad we chose to stay here and we will definitely be returning. Great value! Thank you for helping make our anniversary weekend special.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheDawleyMuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Many thanks. So pleased you had a nice anniversary. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here this weekend just gone for our first wedding anniversary. We had never been to Ludlow before & I must say it was brilliant & we will definitely be back. The hotel was amazing I do love an older building with character & the Cliffe didnt dissapoint! We were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff. The hotel was very clean & tidy. Rooms contained all you need & more! We stayed in room 7 which I loved as it was small & cosy. Not to mention fantastic view's of the Castle. Brekfast was lovely & they cater for everyone. My husband & I spent our evenings drinking in the bar which has a fantastic atmosphere & very friendly bar staff. The walk into town was quick & enjoyable. Didnt have to use our car once! We loved our weekend away & will be back at The Cliffe hopefully same time next year. THANK YOU!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TotalFoodiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you very much for the great review. I'm pleased the hotel lived up to your expectations. Look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent two enjoyable days in Ludlow and stayed at The Cliffe. A good location just outside the town over Dinham Bridge in sight of the castle. It is a small hotel (9 guest rooms with plans to add a 10th) with friendly welcoming staff and ideal for those who want a clean and comfortable (if small) room, and a large well cooked breakfast. It also has a good simple (basic pub food style) bar/restaurant menu, if you want to have your evening meal at the hotel. It's not a spa or boutique hotel and doesn't pretend to be, and charges accordingly - surprised to see comments about not being value for money on other reviews! We paid £140 for 2 nights B&B having booked direct and not getting any special offer. That's good value by my reckoning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReggieMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

I think that is a very fair review. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I chose this hotel for a family mini-break, because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, and because we have never visited Ludlow and the town looked promising for our interests. The plus points - the rooms were very pleasant, clean and comfortable. See comments below for further details. Breakfast was very good; we also ate in the bar on two nights, and the food was good home cooking and generous portions. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but on Sunday it's closed, and on the other night it was being used for a meeting for local business women. Not a problem as the bar is fine and the barman very pleasant. The staff in general are good; efficient, pleasant and polite.
The house is quite old-fashioned, but we did not mind this. The history of the building is interesting. This is not a town centre hotel, so you can't fall out of the door into Ludlow. However, it is very peaceful, and some rooms have beautiful views of the countryside or the castle. The proprietor, Helen, was very friendly.
I was slightly anxious about the booking as two of our party were aged late 70s/early 80s. I knew there was no lift, and made sure that the less able of the two was on the first floor. However the stairs are quite steep, and there are also steps outside up to the main entrance (alternative entrance for disabled to rear, which is flagged up in the promotional literature.) Also one of the bedrooms had a bath rather than shower, with a not very efficient shower head over the bath, which was a drawback for an older person.
However Helen gave us some interesting feedback as we left, in that the ground floor will be extensively remodelled next year, with the restaurant area being made into accommodation for disabled and wheelchair users. It's obvious that she is aware of the drawbacks of the hotel for the less able guest.
The only other point on this topic is that yes, it is a short walk from the hotel into Ludlow....but without pavements for part of the walk, and also with some very steep ups and downs! We drove in....parking was fine, in the large car park near the castle. The walk would be delightful if you have no problem with hills, and it is light. Actually the bar at the hotel is so nice we didn't feel the need to go into town in the evenings.
All in all, I was pleased to have made the choice of 'The Cliffe Hotel.'

Room Tip: We had 'standard' rooms, which were fine. Room 7 on the second floor has a good view of Ludl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirelady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. I'm pleased you felt you had made a good choice. I do hope you will come again next year and see all the changes I am making to the ground floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This could be a lovely hotel one day if it had some money spent on it. As a Londoner I would say it falls way short of the quality you would expect these days and is very poor value if you're paying anything like full rate. If you're wanting to feel pampered on a long weekend break this is not for you.
minus points
- a sort of stale old food smell hits you as soon you walk into the hallway and follows you round until you exit the building again. if you have a sense of smell you will be glad to leave it behind when you check out.
- the décor is both tired and old fashioned - flock wall paper - fire doors containing those institutional looking wired glass windows. I heard from a friend this used to be a youth hotel and not much seems to have changed since then..
- the rooms may vary a little but ours had all the electrical wiring in a plastic covers outside the wall to the plugs and for 3 it was very cramped. The décor is best described as random - the door to the room, the bathroom and the only cupboard were all painted different colours for example!

plus points
-the owner seems nice and appears to be doing her best but cant make the changes needed.
-the staff especially at breakfast are great and the breakfast itself is very nice - probably the best thing about the place.
-although a good walk from town ( over the river and up a steep hill) it is a nice scenic route to the town and castle.
-the building and grounds could be lovely if some money was spent
- the photography of the rooms is fabulous and very flattering.
-Maybe some of the rooms for one or 2 people are better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejj, Owner at The Cliffe at Dinham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

It was interesting to see that you wrote your review 11 months after your visit!

Exciting news: Refurb of bar and lounge areas in 2014 and addition of ground floor letting room. Hope you'll come and see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffe at Dinham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffe at Dinham

Address: Dinham, Ludlow SY8 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £75 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffe at Dinham 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned country house hotel set in its own grounds with plenty of parking. Ten minute walk to Ludlow Castle and the shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliffe at Dinham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe Hotel Ludlow
The Cliffe At Dinham Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing