We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bull Hotel

Bull Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bull Hotel
Ranked #44 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Food”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed over 2 nights on a visit to Ludlow, great value rooms, clean and basic. A little bit noisy as the four guest rooms are over the pub and where people go out to smoke, but we slept ok.

Loved that it was really olde worlde and dates from the 1400's that was part of the charm. Had a meal in the pub first night and it was very good, breakfasts were excellent, full english, toast and cereal and a lovely quaint breakfast room. Staff very pleasant, specially the breakfast staff.

Would stay again and would recommend, but not if a light sleeper, take earplugs

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    22
    14
    18
See reviews for
17
52
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Landlors, Staff friendly, helpful & welcoming at The Bull Hotel, Bar food good & quick to the plate . Breakfast very good you wont go away hungry & good to eat too . Room clean but basic . A good old rickety Inn with a local cliental, remember you will be staying in a town Inn not a quiet tucked away B&B, but alls quiet by midnight & welcome to join in the fun if you wish to . I would recomend this Inn to my friends thought it good value for money, overall I rate this Inn 8/10 . Ludlow beautiful, very friendly, lovely shop assistance especially at Pitter Patter & St Laurence Church . Try the Thai Restaurant part of the Globe most enjoyable yumyum .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy_carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

we didn't stay at the hotel and were just visiting ludlow for the day, we read the menu outside and decided to give it a try for lunch, it was very quiet which which can sometimes be off putting, but decided to stay, the young lady that served us was lovely and very good, we both had starters, i had the queen scollaps and black pudding, the hubby had brushcetta, then we shared a spare rib and chicken combo as our main, every meal was perfect, with a large glass of coke each the bill was around £27 which was great value for money, We have already decided to visit again, we'll take the family next time, well done on the great food and service.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank track64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

On arriving at the hotel we were allocated a twin room when we had booked a double. However we asked for it to be put right and the staff were very hepful in sorting it out for us. It resulted in us having a very large, comfortable double bed. The pub is an old building, so expect some uneven walls and floors, but the decor in the bedrooms was new and clean. The bathroom was large and airy. The breakfast was excellent and staff were friendly. We would certainly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed elsewhere in Ludlow but had an evening meal in The Bull Hotel and were very impressed with be the menu and the food. The service and the beer(Ludlow Breweries, Ludlow Gold) were excellent. We wish the new owners all the best in turning what was" a rough old pub" into a successful venture.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We only stayed one night, but the welcome and service we were exposed to was tremendous. The couple who run the place are a credit to inn owners everywhere, they were totally friendly and breakfast was great. The place seems to be the heart and sole of the community and we met some lovely people from Ludlow

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I was travelling alone and was made to feel really welcome by the landlady and staff, I was soon introduced to the locals, and after enjoying a beautiful walk I was able to relax in the bar playing music from what is probably the best jukebox in Shropshire. The Cajun chicken baguette was a good portion size as well as being extremely tasty. My room was clean, bright and airy and I was offered extra tea & coffee sachets. I would recommend the Bull Hotel to anyone, it’s great for families, and if you are travelling alone, you will be made to feel at home.

Room Tip: Book early as The Bull has only four rooms as soon becomes busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#13 of 48 in Ludlow
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Property: Bull Hotel
Address: 14 Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing