We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're looking for a quiet relaxing sleep....”
Review of Bull Hotel

Bull Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bull Hotel
Ranked #43 of 47 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a quiet relaxing sleep....”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

...then go over the road and stay in The Feathers. Rooms at the Bull are unfortunately located right above a noisy bar with loud music until after midnight every night of the week with a less than salubrious clientele. Rooms were clean and well decorated, breakfast was good, but we couldn't recommend The Bull as the bar lets it down.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willowbabe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    30
    22
    14
    20
See reviews for
17
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Booked two rooms to stay at the hotel during the recent Beer festival. It was great to find a place to stay that had onsite car parking. Rooms a little noisy until closing time (as they were directly above a bar) and the argument in the carpark on the Saturday night didn’t make for a perfect night sleep; however, the rooms were very clean and well maintained although the beds a little too soft for our liking. Breakfast was great: choice of cereals, fruit juice and a full English breakfast were on offer. Not much interaction with any staff other than to pick the key up from the bar on arrival and the friendly guys who made breakfast. A really good, no fuss, place to stay.

Room Tip: Plumbing in room 4 a little noisy - turn on the cold water tap to stop the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

On arrival we found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. We were shown to our rooms which were clean, tidy and comfortable. Although the bar area could perhaps benefit from some refurbishment, we spent an enjoyable time in the lounge during the evening. The breakfast was of a good quality and providing a welcome vegetarian option. It is hard to imagine receiving better care, accommodation and breakfast at the price of the rooms, it would shame some hotels that charge twice as much!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As usual, the published editorial of this hotel does not match the physical state of the accommodation. Having read it was recently refurbished, we were most surprised to note that there was mould / mildew around the bath, which was also lacking in some of it's mastic sealant. The furniture was poor quality DIY, with blemished tops lacking part of the varnish. Our reception on arrival was fairly cold and impersonal, and it was only a brief conversation with the landlady that was "chatty". The parking which in a town centre location is a bonus was taken up by locals drinking in the bar. Not that there would have been very much parking for guests anyway. I would visit Ludlow again, but definitely not stay at The Bull.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARENANN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ludlow hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is definitely a hotel of two halves. The room was clean and well appointed and the breakfast was good enough but it was disappointing that with an award winning butcher just two doors away we were served 99p best value sausages. If you want a good night sleep, don't book here. The pub attached to the hotel is very rough. I arrived at 3pm in the afternoon and found the local drunks being told to leave. Though those allowed to stay were very loud. Having spoken to other bar staff in the town I was advised that the Bull has a reputation and is not the place for a quiet night. The music from the bar blasted through the hotel. Although my overall experiece in Lulow was good, this place lets it down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llwyn1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Superb location, the staff were welcoming & it had a friendly atmosphere. It our first trip to Ludlow - for a pre-Christmas break. It's a lovely market town & a real foodie place with a great choice of restaurants. On the Saturday night we ate early & returned to The Bull for the live music - it was a great move as the band, although only a three piece, were absolutely great & could knock out a superb noise! It might not be everybodys cup of tea but my husband & I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cr241260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

visited the bull hotel and it was like walking into a film where everyone stops and stares at you
only popped in for a quick beer in the afternoon as i had never been here before and there were people in the courtyard shouting at each other. i noticed a bag of white powder on the floor and told the owners about it and they turned a blind eye and this was at 4 in the afternoon so its not like it was a friday night but still! i got told it was a nice relaxing atmosphere!

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Property: Bull Hotel
Address: 14 Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing