We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming one bedroom barn conversion.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kit Cottage

Summer in the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer in the courtyard
A comfy bed with crisp linen Comfortable seating and a well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Summer in the courtyard
A comfy bed with crisp linen
Comfortable seating and a well equipped kitchen
Al fresco dining in the summer - or just sit and read in the sun.
Relax in the courtyard garden with the glorious smell of honeysuckle
Lovely cottage garden flowers at all seasons.
An idea place for a Christmas getaway
Wonderful views as you walk through the fields. No need to take the car - just put your boots on.
Cowslips and fritillaries on our haymeadow. Part of the garden at Kit Cottage
Leintwardine Bridge over the River Teme. A river crossing since Roman times.
The area is a foodies paradise. Excellent choice and locally produced.  Eat in or out.
Bull Ring, Ludlow. Probably the best medieaval town in the country.
The gatehouse at Stokesay Castle - one of many great places to visit.
If you go quietly you'll see some of these.
Great walks from the door in all directions
Historic churches aplenty.
Peace and quiet with just the trees for company.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ludlow, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peecol
Battlesbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming one bedroom barn conversion.”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We arrived at 5pm after an awful 7 hour journey, which included two motorway accidents (thankfully not ours) and heavy rain for most of the day,to find a wonderfully charming one bedroom barn conversion. Part of a 5 barn units, Mocktree Barns is one of the quietest and peaceful place we have ever stayed in.
The owners, Cynthia and Clive Pryor welcomed us and Clive showed us to the accommodation and explained everything we needed to know. Cynthia and Clive operate an eco-friendly environment,with separate containers for recyclable items and grow organically. Such nice people. Although the week we stayed had rain every day at some point, we enjoyed exploring the area. We also had tickets for The Ludlow Food Festival on the weekend, which we can highly recommend. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we hope to return during better weather.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you and were pleased that the cottage met all your needs. Glad you enjoyed the Ludlow Food Festival. It's one of so many super attractions in this peaceful part of the country. Come and visit again - preferably when the sun is shining!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen I
1 review
“Quiet, relaxing charming cottage”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a lovely set of cottages situated in the very heart of Shropshire with beautiful views. We stayed in Kit Cottage. Ludlow, the food shopping market town was within easy reach at 7 miles. Ludlow has lots of quaint pubs to eat at and is host to traditional markets held throughout certain weeks in the month. The cottage itself was warm and cosy and well equipped for self catering. There is a shared patio area to sit out in on a lovely summers day to enjoy the peace and tranquillity the cottages offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay here and also looking round delightful Ludlow. We're situated in beautiful countryside with lovely views of the South Shropshire Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, but are actually just over the border into Herefordshire so we get the best of both counties. There is so much to see and do in this unspoilt part of the country - walking, cycling, National Trust properties and glorious gardens to explore as well a rich historical heritage with castles aplenty. The Herefordshire 'black and white' villages are close by and it's only a short drive into the wonderful mid-Wales countryside and all it has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirati...
1 review
“Needs a woodburner,electric or otherwise, O.K. but very basic”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

All OK. but as I say VERY BASIC, certainly needs either a wood burner electric or otherwise, something to look at instead of the television. Needs a light in the corner on top of the table. Dark because of all this eco friendly business, so having to turn off the powerful lights to save environment, was rather boring. Certainly a few groceries, milk, bread, etc would have been very welcoming, as after a long journey to have to go to the village and buy some basic things was a little unfriendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you for your comments and sorry that your Christmas stay on your own wasn't quite what you were looking for.
We do hope you didn't feel inhibited - there's no problem in moving any of the five table/standard lamps around to suit your needs. Likewise our suggestion to turn off lights when not in use is simply advisory and fits with our green credentials.
We provide a small hospitality tray including a jug of milk to greet guests, but most prefer to bring their own food or shop locally once they've settled in. There is so much choice in this wonderful 'foodie' area, but we would have been happy to do some basic shopping in advance for you if you had asked.
Other guests have told us that the cottage is well equipped and comfortable. As we live here we are more than happy to provide anything else needed if we can, as we explained to you when you arrived.
Thanks again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist65...
1 review
“Perfect cottage for relaxed getaway”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed at Kit Cottage for long weekend in September. Comfy compact cottage with everything provided. Location is lovely, set in countryside not far from a small village with shop and a few places to eat and drink. Cottage is dog friendly with plenty of places to go for walk. The owner Cynthia was on hand with a warm welcome when we arrived and the cottage had plenty of information about things to do locally. Would definitely like to go back for a short stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your nice review. Do come and see us again - Kit Cottage makes a lovely base for a winter or spring holiday too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debave
USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil spot in a hidden part of England”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cottage and in this part of England. It's lovely, not too touristy/busy and very dog friendly. The cottage owners were really nice and welcomed us with milk and cake. The pubs down the road were dog friendly and offered great food. All in all a wonderful way to spend Easter.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay back in the springtime. Come and see us again one day - autumn is a lovely time of year here too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leogee
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tranquil and comfortable, ideal chillout .”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed 3 nights 13-15 July 2015. The cottage is one of four grouped around a small courtyard with shrubs and flowers. Not a boutique hotel but a beamed converted farm building comfortably furnished with 4 ring cooker,fridge,microwave and more than adequate crockery and utensils. Being eco-friendly development the owners( friendly and obliging) provide "green" washing liquid and cleaners, teatowels etc. The main room is a lounge/kitchen diner.The double bedroom is more than adequate with comfortable bed and sufficient wardrobe/drawer space ( plenty of clothes hangers).and a compact modern shower room with WC and basin.Water was hot and delivered via excellent shower head.
The cottage was nicely maintained and spotlessly clean.Somewhat dark as windows are small and a large shrub beside the door robs it of light. My only complaint was the towels provided were well worn and felt sodden before I had finished drying off after a shower. Situated beside an A road one might expect lots of road noise but the road is a quiet one,particularly by a townies standards and only the occasional subdued hum disturbs the tranquility.
I would unreservedly recommend the cottage for a short stay in peaceful and beautiful surroundings. I note another contributor complains the cottage was cold but the central heating seemed quite good and one CAN adjust the thermostats to taste.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Wi-fi connection was temperamental.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review Lionel and sorry you found the towels were sub standard. We have a constant renewal of all our bed linen and towels and these have already been replaced. Glad you pointed it out - we need to be kept on our toes! Do come and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackienAl...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but cold rooms”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Nice for summer, unfortunately the radiator didn't work in loung and it wasn't hot in bedroom so the cottage never warmed up and neither did I

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
So sorry that you were cold - wish you had told us about it so that we could have helped with extra heating and sorted the radiator quickly. We know you weren't at all well during your stay so do hope you are feeling better now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing