We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunchtime very good - evening only average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ego's Kitchen & Wine Bar

Ego's Kitchen & Wine Bar
Ranked #54 of 87 Restaurants in Ludlow
Price range: US$49 - US$49
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A relaxed and contemporary cafe bar in the centre of historic Ludlow. The Wine Bar offers bistro style dining and drinking, high quality food with a wide range of fine wines and drinks. Open 10am to 10pm, 7 days a week.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lunchtime very good - evening only average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have had a sandwich at lunch time on several occasions and it has always been good. Just recently, we decided to try it for an evening meal. We decided to sample the tapas. These were good but nothing special and a little overpriced (but as this is Ludlow we are talking about maybe not overpriced!) One to try for a light bite but don't go with too high expectations.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    14
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place for a coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

A lovely little café in a charming court yard. Fantastic outside area if it's a nice day. Nice and trendy indoors with daily newspapers to read for free. This is my second favourite place for a coffee in Ludlow (First is the Castle).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMoonCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I've been here twice in the past three months and both times the service was awful. Both times no one greeted us, no one offered menus, we had to ask to order and we had to ask for the bill. The two waitresses who served us didn't seem to speak. This would be unacceptable but then we had the food. The carrot and coriander soup was just plain weird...too much turmeric or something. I won't be returning and would not recommend it to others.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank starfish97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Thanks for nothing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We came here 2 years ago and remembered it as a good place to get breakfast with room for a pushchair. Or so we thought. When we arrived we were trying to work out where to sit and put the pushchair. We had even decided to carry the baby upstairs if we could park the chair somewhere. The staff didn't offer any help and so my partner went to ask if there was somewhere to park. She was met with blank eyes and a no can do attitude."We don't really cater for that. You could try under the stairs" We looked at the stack of chairs there and decided if they couldn't be bothered, then we couldn't. So we left and went to Aragons and were treated like paying customers should be.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r0binballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Location is great, food is adequate. Advertised as 'Italian themed', but doesn't virtually every restaurant have a pasta dish? Nothing to write home about.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim1983_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, Manager at Ego's Kitchen & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We take all reviews into account and do our best to improve where necessary. All feedback is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego's Kitchen & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Ego's Kitchen & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing