We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual location, but definately worth a visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koo Japanese Restaurant

Koo Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 87 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$61 - US$61
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unusual location, but definately worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked this restaurant to celebrate my daughter's 21st recently, her choice because she loves all things Japanese and this was the closest to where we live (Bridgnorth). Booked for 7 people (family, all adults). I received a phone call the day before from the restaurant to confirm the booking. The restaurant was easy to find, parking was on the road outside, no problems. The restaurant is essentially a converted terraced house, in a residential area, just outside of the town centre. Very simply furnished inside and small, however it was packed the night we went (Saturday). Great atmosphere, although background music was not Japanese. Although the web site would indicate there was an A la Carte menu, this was not available, only the set menu. The price just under £27/person for 4 courses. I had told them that one person in our party was vegetarian, this was not a problem. The sushi starter comprised of fish and vegetable, vegetable only was provided. There was a good choice of dishes in each course, I had the tuna goyoza which was lovely. I do believe the menus are changed fortnightly. Each course was well presented, and although service was a bit slow (Mari apologised), we did not mind, did not feel pressure to rush, was nice and relaxed. The main meals are supplied with plates of traditional vegetables, such as lotus root (lovely), soya beans (remove beans from pods as pods are stringy!), and some other thin beans with sesame. Dessert consisted of 3 small portions of green tea ice cream, a type of cheesecake without the base, and an apple tart. Quite delicious. We were all full by the finish! They have a good selection of drinks including a lovely plum wine. I also tried the Japanese tea which was unusual but very refreshing. Someone described it as being a bit like smoked popcorn! This is an unusual restaurant, and great to go for a special occasion as it is quite expensive, especially when you have a few drinks! ps. Get ready to use your chop sticks!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank panyan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    26
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb japanese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I went to Koo for a relatives 30th birthday. None of us had ever been to a Japanese restaurant before so we didnt quite know what to expect. I must say we were really impressed, the food was lovely! As we were a group of 10 we opted for a 4 course set menu with sushi to start followed by a selection of traditional japanese dishes to share. The manager came over and explained all the dishes to us and told us which sauces complimented which dish which was really useful as we hadnt got a clue! The food itself was delicious, so many lovely flavours. We were even impressed with the desert which included a small apple pastry, green tea icecream, a chinese goosebury and a cheesecake which I can only describe as tasting like cake mixture (everyone loves cake mixture right?!). We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to taste proper japanese cuisine in a friendly small intimate restaurant. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely but left slightly under-awed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Have been wanting to go here for some time and finally got around to it. Lovely room-compact but cosy. Although set menu was lovely I did feel that a bit more 'full on' japanese food could have been offered on an a la carte menu rather than just the set menu offered. Service was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dollydo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Japanese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I wasn't sure what to think, but I was tempted in by the fact the restaurant has so many good written reviews outside. I found the staff to be very welcoming and knowledgeable and they were able to help us choose contrasting meals. I thought it sounded dear, but didn't realise just how much I was going to get. Roll on the next night we get to organise!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ludlow_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had long wanted to go to this restaurant and took overseas visitors with us who love Japanese food but have to say we were very disappointed. It was Friday evening and it was busy but the service was bad. The first three courses on what is a set menu were very good but the dessert left much to be desired. We asked to see the a la carte menu and were just shown a typed version of what was on the set menu! Why not just say the menu is the same!! Service was, at best, sloppy. I'm afraid we will not be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3waltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Koo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing