We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food OK but needs an interior makeover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koo Japanese Restaurant

Koo Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 87 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$61 - US$61
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Food OK but needs an interior makeover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went here early one Saturday evening ( we had booked) and I think we were the first customers. We were shown to a table by the window which was pleasant enough and ordered from the set menu. We have actually been to Japan and eaten in Japanese restaurants in Hawaii and overall I think they could be a bit braver with this restaurant. It is obviously popular, it filled up fairly quickly and quite a few seemed like repeat customers, but the food is what I would call 'safe' with nothing really unusual or different. The girl who served us was very nice, as was the owner/manager but I feel they could make more of this restaurant than they actually do. The interior looks as though it could do with a makeover, both decorative wise (artificial flowers in the window) and as other customers have mentioned, cleanliness wise. It is only a small place and it could be a little gem of Oriental quality and taste. It isn't cheap, and at the end of the day I could only describe the food as normal Asian fare, when for the most part Japanese normally has more of the wow factor, both in presentation and taste.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank green_naturelover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    26
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Koo is a small relaxed friendly restaurant, located a bit out of the main centre of Ludlow. We had a lovely meal, that was really fresh and very tasty.
We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Very different!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It took a few attempts to try and get into this restaurant when opening time came round. Apparently the chef was off ill and the manageress was the chef for the evening. The food was interesting and everything tasted very pleasant, perhaps not quiet like our traditional Japanese restaurant at home but it was a very pleasant change. Service very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A total disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were looking forward to our meal at Koo having read a number of very good reviews about the restaurant. The set meal options were limited but the descriptions looked appealing. Our sushi starter was dry and frankly tasteless (I have eaten better from a supermarket) and the remaining courses were uninspired and very disappointing. The waiter at the end of our meal (we weren't asked during) asked if everything was to our satisfaction, our reply that "no, it hasn't been a great experience" met with a smile and "thank you very much". Poor customer service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Japanese Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is high quality Japanese food. Beautifully presented (as you would expect) delicate flavours, contrasting textures. Brought to mind the many meals we ate in Japan. 4 course menu, sushi for 1st course, 3 desserts for 4th course. We chose chicken dumplings and tempura 2nd, followed by salmon and beef 3rd course. Accompanied with warm sake. A real treat we thoroughly enjoyed it all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Koo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing