We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations, but experience just ok”
Review of Unicorn Inn - CLOSED

Unicorn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Unicorn Inn is a grade two listed building with many old features that add to its unique character. From the wooden beams to the uneven floor, from the welcoming and cosy atmosphere to the always helpful and friendly staff. We offer a high quality, freshly cooked, homemade menu with locally sourced ingredients and a selection of award winning local ales. We have three dining areas to choose from that each have their own charm. We also have an outside seating and garden area overlooking the river for those lovely summer days and evenings, and for the winter we have the one thing everybody enjoys....A roaring fire. Our menus are not only full of seasonal dishes but we also have a mouth watering and extensive vegetarian. Our food service times are subject to change so please telephone Please feel free to go to our website where you will find a copy of our menu. If you have any questions then please email and we will be happy to help.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High expectations, but experience just ok”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Heard lots of good things about the pub and food. Inside there is good ambience, outside is looking tired. Food ok but not outstanding, servings large but quality ok. Service distinctly amatuer (example waiter rubbing mark off paper serviette and then still used on the place setting)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    180
    68
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had reserved a table at The Unicorn for the third night of a three day break in Ludlow and after having eaten two excellent meals at other restaurants in Ludlow we were looking forward to our last evening at The Unicorn. The welcome was poor from a very unsmiling man behind the bar; we were given a table in the bar area where we noticed straightaway 3 dogs nearby. We didn't know there was another eating area as not offered it but we would certainly have asked to be moved had we known. The food was extremely average, vegetables rock hard and the chicken dry and tasteless. Very disappointed that we chose this place as our last eat out of our otherwise wonderful visit to Ludlow.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good food, pleasant staff, good atmosphere, local beers. What else do you want?
Went there twice and enjoyed the lamb, the sirloin steak and sticky toffee pudding.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank frederique r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average fayre”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having been to the Unicorn a couple of times in the past, we were relly looking forward to going back. The food was ok but we both thought that it was very under seasoned. We both had the pate to start, which didn't come with anywhere near enough bread. My chicken main was very dry. The bottle of wine which we paid £15.95 for was probably available in a supermarket for less than £4. We were starving so ate all the food. We did mention the under seasoning, so hopefully this feedback was given to the chef.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TurnerS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Open on a Sunday night!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Cosy, charming, good staff and open on a Sunday night! Thank god, Ludlow is still in a 70 s time warp with early closing etc. an interesting menu.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandydanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unicorn Inn also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing