We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food”

Overton Grange Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 91 Restaurants in Ludlow
Price range: US$38 - US$51
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We live close to Overton Grange (and it being Ludlow a wide selection of other restaurants) and choose it when we want to celebrate. We have used it for private dinners with guests for our Ruby Wedding and for my husband's 60th birthday. We also often have our Christmas lunch there. The food and service have always been very good. We usually choose the tasting menu and find that the food is beautifully presented and that the chef has made an effort to use local ingredients. The service, not by locals but well-trained French and Eastern European staff, is pleasant and professional. The bill for our last dinner there in July came to £195 which included a drink each before the meal, half a bottle of white and a bottle of red wine, tea and coffee, The restaurant is often far from full and on the last occasion we dined with one other couple. The canapes and amuse-bouches always look interesting and taste good. Coffee is served with petits fours and there is usually a pre-desert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Four of us dined on a Sunday evening. No one else in the restaurant, but the service and quality of the meal was outstanding. This is not a cheap dinner menu, but the experience was worth every penny.
For a special occasion this is definitely a venue worth considering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PRM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We went for a celebration lunch today...Easter Sunday...reception was welcoming....downward spiral from there.... we were the only people in the restaurant....no heating on at all....the temperature today is 2 degrees..(The required temperature for a restaurant is 24 degrees!).we politely asked if they could put the radiators on...eventually we received a de longhi plug in radiator....(why not just put the heating on?!!)...this temporary heating did not heat the large dining area and we ate our relatively good meal in our coats!....when it came to the bill we asked if we could at least have a complimentary drink with our coffee.....(coffee was lukewarm and watered down).....yes, the waiter agreed that we could and yes, he agreed it was was cold. The manager was called....talk about Fawlty Towers...unbelievably rude....we said how cold the restaurant was and he replied "I.m not cold". We asked him to go to the restaurant to see how cold it was but he declined.
We told him we had to eat our meal with our coats on...his response was (" you have jumpers on...thats not my problem!)
We were so disappointed and said we would not be returning.....his reply was (" I look forward to never seeing you again!)....We are professionals in our fifties and are simply stunned. "We strongly advise think more than twice about spending in excess of £150 to have sunday lunch...in what felt like sub zero temperatures...with a Manager who clearly has no Interpersonal skills towards his paying guests

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BexH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply wonderful...”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Had lunch here with my wife to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary today and we were both blown away by the quality of food and service. Our meals were perfectly cooked and tasted wonderful. Staff were polite, attentive and courteous. A wonderful find and one we will revisit soon. Meal was topped off with tea & coffee by an open fire looking out at snow-capped scenery...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaswinder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel.”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Lovely hotel restaurant, in own grounds with spectacular view. Food of thr very highest international standard, served by very attentive and efficient staff. food cooked to perfection. Absolutely unforgettable perfection.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Overton Grange Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Overton Grange Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing