We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This brand new hotel will go far ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This brand new hotel will go far ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

We booked Fishmore Hall, located five minutes outside of Ludlow, for a very last minute one night stay on our way up to Yorkshire in an effort to break the journey for our young children. What we found could not have been improved upon. The hotel has been completely refurbished from it's previous life as a nursing home and everything was sparkly and brand new, from the wet room to the crisp white sheets on our HUGE bed to all the sumptuous furnishings found throughout the hotel. The kids had a wonderful roast pork tea served in our room followed by home made vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce - all lapped up, even by our fussy 4 year old. We then enjoyed a relaxing, faultless and very tasty meal in the restaurant, using primarily local produce, which from our experience should be worthy of a michelin star as soon as it is possible. Laura, the proprietor, and her team looked after us really well and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — Comfortable and new
  • Disliked — The spotlights outside were a little intrusive ans shone into our room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASPERTHEJUBILANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    195
    68
    26
    17
See reviews for
79
598
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

We had just a one night stay at this very pleasant and well appointed hotel which is just out in the country from Ludlow itself. The rooms were excellent (though be careful of the very hot heated towel rail in the bathroom) and the staff friendly. Would definitely come again if the opportunity arises.

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — Nothing specific
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2007

This hotel opened a few weeks before we stayed, so everything is very crisp and new. It's an old building in open countryside, beautifully refurbished in a modern minimalist style. Our standard room was excellent, large compfortable bed, top quality bath robes, walk-in shower. The food was a real surprise, excellent in every way - so good that we booked for another meal, with friends, later in the week. This really is a very high standard restaurant indeed. Our only surprise was that they only had one bottle of the Gevry Chambertain that we ordered. Breakfasts were also very good, and they kept the restarant open one morning when we were late.
Its a 20minute walk/short drive into Ludlow.
I recommend this hotel whole-heartedly, for the ambience, the service, the food, the whole experience.

  • Liked — The whole experience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

the decor was fantastic the rooms an inexpensive Malmaison
style the problem we had are of the human kind words like "i have a bad odour in my room it smells like a drainage problem . your being very fussy sir" ,soft southerns ,muppet and do you really want to see the the dessert menu with rude interuptions and saying the bar menu will be quicker than the 3 course and yet we paid for the 3 course meal as we were the only people staying ( we had 6 rooms) there it seem more of an interference than clients you would like to return

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — some staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank blackEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

We looked for a hotel on the outskirts of Ludlow and found this gem, which had only opened on the 4th October, 2007. We stayed just three weeks later. The decor was simple but high quality and most appealing. We dined in on the first evening and had an excellent meal which was well presented. The wine list was extensive to suit all tastes. The bedroom was spacious with an enormous bed and well planned bathroom. This had a bath with a cascade tap, a power shower plus wash basin and toilet. A heated towel rack ensured that our towels were always warm and dry. The staff were attentive and wanting to make our stay a happy one. We shall go again. We had a better value weekend deal by booking through an agency.

  • Liked — The spacious room and the staff
  • Disliked — A little noise from a local road
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank UkMalcolmB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing