We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little stuck up if I'm honest”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little stuck up if I'm honest”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was invited to a corporate event with a large media fire some time ago and the venue was lovely clearly spent a lot of money to attract very discerning clients and weddings
The food was great and service was good but tarnished with a stuck up appeal, I haven't been back since so by judging by all the positive reviews in looks like things have improved and less pretentious so I will give it another try soon

Room Tip: Didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    212
    74
    27
    17
See reviews for
86
634
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The bedroom, comfort and staff were excellent. We were on an autumn break walking offer. On the first evening we ate in the restaurant and although the food was beautifully cooked and served, added together the portions were miniscule and not a suitable meal after a hearty walk. The break between each course was very long. Have chefs gone too far to achieve perfection in presentation? The second night we sampled the bar menu which was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Really lovely place to stay, beautiful hotel, rooms are generous, light and airy with huge comfortable beds, with tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits on request. We stayed here as it is dog friendly, only thing to detract from our stay was we didnt realise we couldnt have an evening meal in the lounge where the dog was allowed to go,only sandwiches, although we could have left her in the room but we dont like to in strange places just incase. Breakfast we were in the lounge which is a beautiful room to sit an relax in, we had a cooked breakfast but there was cereals, fruit, and continental type breakfasts as well, something for every taste. All in all a most enjoyable stay in a fabulous hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Fishmore Hall is an imposing building on the hilly outskirts of Ludlow, with pleasant grounds & great views. Ample parking is provided for guests of the 15 rooms.

My wife and I returned here to celebrate one of my many birthdays. By coincidence we were shown to the same table we had occupied 3 years earlier.
The receptionist epitomised the helpful and friendly nature of all the staff we encountered by telephoning a day before our visit to check on our timings.

The décor and furnishings at the Hall are quietly impressive and comfortable: canapés and a beautiful flute of fizz helped us relax before our meal in the 'conservatory' dining room. Tables were well presented with crisp tablecloths, linen napkins and quality cutlery. Iced water was offered and there were good beers & ciders. Very muted background music added to the ambience of the evening.

We had opted for the 5 course menu of beetroot terrine, rabbit, Cornish mussels, loin of local venison and coconut cream. The portions were modest in size but beautifully presented and each a work of art - the talented chef clearly knew his combinations and took obvious pride in his work. One of the three staff who served us explained each dish & was quite prepared to answer questions. All three young staff were impeccably mannered yet friendly and attentive.

The extensive wine list had some 80 wines from across the world, We really enjoyed a £22 Chilean cabernet that complemented the food. We left with pleasant memories of an outstanding meal and excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for one night to break the journey from North Wales to the south coast. It was a little out of the way but we visited based on the TA reviews. The room was huge and comfortable. Staff were helpful and courteous. The midweek break price included dinner, and this was from the full a la carte menu with no restrictions. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My daughter arranged for the hotel to do a meal for 11 people for my wife's birthday celebration. We had hired a cottage near Ludlow. The meal was excellent in content and value and the 2 people who came to cook and serve did it so well nobody felt inhibited. If you want outside catering in Ludlow area go to them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The review by Hammer49 on their experience of afternoon tea was remarkably similar to ours. We expected much more finesse to the experience. No linen napkins or table cloths, chunky white cups, sauces & plates better suited to a roadside diner, large heavy knife & fork & just the one plate for sandwiches & cakes. The sandwiches were thick fingers of white & brown bread which were delivered to the table piled on a small piece of slate with little or no attention to presentation. The cakes were again plonked on a two tier slate cake stand together with a pot of cream & a pot of jam. The redeeming feature as stated by hammer 49 were the scones , which were delicious. The remaining cakes consisted of a two slices of angel cake, two small chocolate meringues both of which appeared to have been brought from the local supermarket & two other cakes. The coffee came not in a caffettiere but in a stainless pot. Yes the setting was nice & the staff were pleasant but to us an English afternoon tea is about crisp white linen, bone china crockery, pastry knives & delicate sandwiches & a selection of home made cakes. For the price being charged Fishmore Hall need to up their game considerably if they want to compete with de Greys in Ludlow where we would normally go on our visits to Ludlow

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
443 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing