We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Treat”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Christmas Treat”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent Christmas at Fishmore Hall and loved it! I was a bit wary about a Christmas break having not done one before but my myself, my partner and my Mum decided to give it a go. The food and service were faultless. My other half has Coeliac Disease and so cannot have gluten and the chefs went to so much trouble to ensure that he didn't miss out - they even made him a gluten free afternoon tea complete with sandwiches and scones! We were given Champagne and canapes each night in the lounge before dinner which was served in the lovely conservatory area of the restaurant. The food was all of a very high standard and sourced locally where possible and the portions were just right meaning that you did not feel that you'd overdone it too much. The chef deserves a Michelin star and although he is shy and definitely not a 'celebrity chef' he did come to speak to some fellow diners on their request but you could tell he couldn't wait to get back to the kitchen!
The rooms are a extremely comfortable with quality extras such as Molton Brown toiletries, cosy robes and slippers, free mineral water, local goodies in the mini bar and a cafitiere for coffee. We had a Christmas gift in each room which was a lovely touch.
The building is a lovely old country house in a quiet location just outside Ludlow and is decorated in a contemporary style. The Christmas decorations were classy and low key.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Even Standard rooms are quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bupsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    212
    74
    27
    17
See reviews for
86
634
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went to meet relations for lunch halfway between our respective homes. Lunch was well cooked but the portions were very small, and there were no vegetables to speak of. They use bits of slate and oddly- shaped plates in a misguided attempt to be fashionable.
The service was good but not obtrusive.
The lounge, where we had coffee, was grim: mud-coloured upholstery and pictures which actually seemed to be made of mud. The conservatory-style dining room was pleasanter, as it was sunny, and you could watch the raptors wheeling overhead!
Nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxalis-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Myself, my husband and friends stayed at Fishmore Hall for New Years Eve. Everything from check in and check out was perfection. When we arrived we had a wonderful afternoon tea, before retiring to our rooms to get ready for the evening. After having champagne, cocktails and canapés we went into dinner to have the most amazing 5 course meal. Then dancing and fireworks at midnight. The food and staff (as we have come to expect) was amazing. When we eventually went to bed we found a small gift and the local weather forecast had been placed on it which was a lovely touch. The staff must have been exhausted in the morning, but there was no evidence of it at breakfast! We were all very sad to come away and look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: We had Room 5 over reception facing car park and lovely views. Large wet room shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chart50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2nights, end Dec 13 as a couple. Ideal to just chill out & relax but with a touch of luxury. Beautiful hotel, staff friendly & helpful, nothing too much trouble. Had fab meal in bar one evening, felt like going to expensive restaurant, staff & food came from same kitchen so basically same , just different menu but beautiful food served with style. Had lvly bottle wine although at typical restaurant price! Room was immaculate, daily printed weather 4cast & pot of sweets a nice touch. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon in Ludlow, so decided to return and celebrate our wedding anniversary there. This time we chose Fishmore Hall. What a find. Our room with the bath in the middle of it, the wet room, the views and calm, sophisticated, elegance were delightful. The tasting dinner in the restaurant on our first evening and subsequent dinner and breakfasts were first class. The decor is modern and yet somehow suits this elegant Georgian property. The understated, but very effective Christmas decorations enhanced the whole experience. The staff were friendly and attentive, but knew how to give you your space. A truly wonderful place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canneb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It was our second time here. We love the place & the staff are very professional & accommodating.
We'll return again. Food is fantastic, overall rating 10/10
Amazing run hotel, lovely walk to Ludlow max 10mins walk .

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 on the ground floor. It has an anti room with a fireplace, tv, sofa, etc Wet room. We pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelicaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fishmore Hall on an Autumn Escape deal, which was incredibly reasonable. The room was an executive one, and large and peaceful. The bathroom was also a very good size with bath and shower both big and modern. Although a very comfortable hotel, the most special thing was the staff. Everyone was keen to make sure we enjoyed ourselves, and we felt really looked after.

The breakfast was really exceptional and we would have needed a week's stay to try everything we had our eyes on. We had room service from the bar menu one night, and were blown away by the quality of the food. We also had the tasting menu in the restaurant and enjoyed it, but felt there were a few false notes in some dishes - they are very nearly there and I'm sure will carry on improving.

We look forward to returning to Fishmore Hall one day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busybee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
443 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
771 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing