We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic visit!”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Yesterday was our second visit to Fishmore Hall Hotel and it was a birthday treat for my sister and her husband, who hadn't stayed there before. It didn't disappoint. We had the 6 course tasting menu and accompanying wines and it was incredible; probably one of the best meals I have ever had. The rooms, the service, and the food were absolutely first class and I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Purchased a travelzoo deal for the 6 course tasting menu and booked a room with the hotel itself on-line.We arrived at 2pm and asked if we could leave our car as we wanted to walk into Ludlow.We were made very welcome and our luggage was taken from the car and installed in the room.On our return we discovered we had been upgraded. Fabulous room, real coffee maker, walk-in shower, large separate bath, bathrobes and nice view.Lovely building tastefully restored.We had a drink in the lounge with canapes, chose our wines and then were shown to our table in the lovely dining room.Shame there was only one other table occupied.The food was excellent. Some of the best we have eaten with service to match.This is one of the best all round places we have stayed.Plenty of walking in the area and Ludlow has some nice individual shops to explore.Couldn't fault the hotel. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and good quality ingredients.Well done all. We will return and would be prepared to pay going rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetetolhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A group of us stayed at Fishmore Hall for New Years Eve and have to say it was a very enjoyable evening. The hotel is a lovely old (recently renovated) mansion situated on the outskirts of Ludlow and surrounded by countryside. The New Years Eve package included an excellent afternoon tea and champagne and canapés were served prior to the 5 course tasting menu. The food was of a very high standard but as expected for a tasting menu the portions were not large. Each course was however delicious and the scallops were outstanding! The meal was followed by dancing and fireworks. Our bedroom although nicely decorated, spacious and with a large bath in the room did have the strangest open plan shower, bathroom and toilet - no doors - although you could not see the toilet from the bedroom! We were informed of this before arrival but have to say it was style over practicality. The hotel itself is pleasant and comfortable with a small lounge area (with strange paintings) and a conservatory restaurant. The cooked breakfast was very good but it did seem that certain things were very slow arriving - had to ask for fruit, croissants etc a few times. The staff were always friendly and helpful. An added bonus is that there is free wi-fi. All in all we very much enjoyed our New Years Eve.

Room Tip: Room 7 has an open plan bathroom - might not suit all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a gem we have stumbled on. Not knowing what to expect, this was a delightful Hotel that I could not fault at all. Everything is luxurious, down to the china mugs on the tea tray, candles in the bathroom, Molten Brown products. The bathroom was fabulous. A hugh bath to soak away the stresses of the day. A walk in shower. Big fluffy towels. A super king size bed. Close by to Ludlow, and all the attractions. We did walk in from the hotel, but decided to catch a taxi back, as it was dark. Only minutes away, taxi relatively cheap. Had a really enjoyable 1 night stay as we were onto another venue for the New Year, will definately be back.

Room Tip: We had room 3, but I am sure all the rooms would be of the same standard that we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent a few days at Fishmore Hall over the christmas break and had a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable stay.

Our room was a reasonable size, very comfortable and had a great walk-in shower. The hotel has been renovated and decorated with a muted contemporary look and I didn't mind the art on the walls. Not to my taste but nothing to get worked up about.

All of the staff we encountered were very, very good. Attentive without being obtrusive and always helpful and friendly. It is clear to see they have been trained well.

The dining room is half in the old hall and half in a modern addition; and it sits well with the overall look of the hotel. Very relaxed and slow paced allowing us time to savour the food. All of which was great. All our meals were well prepared and presented beautifully and we were always full. It was all of a very high standard and fits well with Ludlows reputation for fine dining. Another review commented on their dietary needs and I too have specific dietary requirements. All of the staff were great about it and nothing was too much trouble for them. I wish all hotels were so well staffed with well trained, courteous employees.

I particularly liked the little details such as the following days weather report waiting in our room on the last evening and the little bag of complementary christmas goodies. Nothing earth shattering i know, but the fact they bother with small details like this speaks volumes about the attitude of both owner and staff.

Fishmore Hall has a dog friendly policy, so if you don't like dogs or have allergies this might be a problem for some. Personally I like dogs so it was nice to see them curled up in the lounge and i only heard a single bark the entire stay.

Overall we had a great stay and will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pattdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel with friendly staff. Easy to find on the outskirts of Ludlow. Plenty of parking and lovely views over the hills even in late December. Spacious room with very clean bathroom. Shower very powerful and the sweets and weather forecast was a nice touch. Ludlow is a fine medieval market town with a castle and many small shops and cafés.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cally84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent Christmas at Fishmore Hall and loved it! I was a bit wary about a Christmas break having not done one before but my myself, my partner and my Mum decided to give it a go. The food and service were faultless. My other half has Coeliac Disease and so cannot have gluten and the chefs went to so much trouble to ensure that he didn't miss out - they even made him a gluten free afternoon tea complete with sandwiches and scones! We were given Champagne and canapes each night in the lounge before dinner which was served in the lovely conservatory area of the restaurant. The food was all of a very high standard and sourced locally where possible and the portions were just right meaning that you did not feel that you'd overdone it too much. The chef deserves a Michelin star and although he is shy and definitely not a 'celebrity chef' he did come to speak to some fellow diners on their request but you could tell he couldn't wait to get back to the kitchen!
The rooms are a extremely comfortable with quality extras such as Molton Brown toiletries, cosy robes and slippers, free mineral water, local goodies in the mini bar and a cafitiere for coffee. We had a Christmas gift in each room which was a lovely touch.
The building is a lovely old country house in a quiet location just outside Ludlow and is decorated in a contemporary style. The Christmas decorations were classy and low key.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Even Standard rooms are quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bupsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
1 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
822 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £80 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing