We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel stay - great food - nice staff - and can walk to Ludlow!”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“lovely hotel stay - great food - nice staff - and can walk to Ludlow!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Went for one night - took my husband for Christmas in January as had lots of people Christmas time so just a quiet day and night - lovely room - did not have a bath but shower fine. Took our 'spoilt' dog which was great and allowed in all bedrooms and bar/lounge. Fantastic food - 6 course taster menu - took 2.5hours for dinner - superb! Can easily walk to Ludlow for a visit and went to Clee Hill - very windy!

Room Tip: Take you dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    202
    71
    27
    17
See reviews for
80
615
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent two nights here recently, Saturday and Sunday. The room was very comfortable, with good quality refreshments. A request for biscuits (not in the room but provided free when asked for) produced 6 wonderful home cooked biscuits of various types. Extra tea bags and fresh coffee were also readily available. We had a standard room, so only a very nice shower, but no bath (our only regret). Bathrobes and slippers were also provided.

We chose this hotel for the food, and the nine course tasting menu did not disappoint. We also had the "wine flight", with a different wine with each of the nine courses. At a total cost of £108.50 per person we felt this was excellent value for a meal and drinks of this quality. I was also surprised to find that my favourite dish was braised pigs cheek, but trying new dishes is one of the benefits of the tasting menu. The chef coped very well with minor adaptations for my wife's gluten free diet, including lovely fresh gluten free bread. Service was excellent, attentive without being too cloying. JJ was very informative about the wines.

The restaurant was closed on the Sunday so we walked into Ludlow (about a mile) and had a good meal there. Breakfast in the hotel on Monday was excellent.

We have eaten and stayed in other well known establishments in Ludlow and the food here was at least as good and the accommodation better and far more reasonably priced. We will go again.

Room Tip: The standard room was excellent, but a bath would be good too, so may be worth an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff, excellent hotel. Can't fault it. Amazing room overlooking fields and great view of Clee Hill. Open plan bathroom was really nice. (Room 7, Luxury Room) I do think the toilet should never be open plan though :-/ ......

Dinner in the restaurant was superb. Brilliant experience amazing food. Excellent.

The only slight downside is the distance to Ludlow town centre. You can walk it but it's not a particularly nice walk and I reckon it would take me much longer than 15 mins. We drove to town and found it easy to park so works for me.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1jllj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous time from start to finish.
Room was lovely
6 course taster menu was divine with 3 extra bonus courses! Staff lovely.
Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it.
Will definitely go again!
Ludlow is an amazing place to visit and fishmorehall was the icing on the cake.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SHEENA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just like Shropshire Tolly below we bought a Travelzoo deal for the 6-course tasting menu and stayed overnight at this gorgeous hotel. We were also upgraded to a superior room, which was just lovely and overlooked the twinkling lights of Ludlow.

We don't eat meat, so the restaurant came up with a fish-based tasting menu which was totally scrumptious. The tasting menu was a revelation (and what with hors d'ouvres, amuse-bouches and pre-desserts was more like 9 courses than 6). Let me tell you what we ate (yum!) 3 different hors d'oeuvres, an amuse-bouche of caulflower mousse with apricots & curried pine nuts then down to course no. 1 - salmon confit with some amazing beetroot confections, roast monkfish with a delicious potato and vanilla terrine, a stand-out mussel dish with saffron linguine, tomato and micro-coriander, a super piece of turbot complemented perfectly by toasted almonds (and a chervil gnocchi which for me were the only tiny false note of the evening) then a platter of 5 artisan cheeses including an astonishing Vacherin accompanied by a sliver of quince paste, then pre-dessert (my personal favourite, vanilla-scented pannacotta with rum-soaked raisins), a lemon and fennel creation which was astonishing and to finish a dark chocolate mousse with sublime blackberry sorbet (might have been ice cream). The portions were just right for a tasting menu - not skimpy but not so much to put you off the next delicious course.

The staff at the hotel were really helpful and kind and having spent most of the last week in bed with some kind of bug this was the most perfect way to get back on my feet. I'm going to tell everyone I know about this lovely hotel, and I'm definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogan_o_Fon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A recent stay in Ludlow for business saw me searching for a hotel, not knowing the area well I chose to stay at the Fishmore Hall. I admit to knowing nothing about the place before my stay, on arrival my first surprise was I had been upgraded as they were not busy on that particular night, the room was delightful, I could have wanted for nothing more. The communal areas of the hotel were warm and extremely comfortable as I perused the menu for evening meal, the meal was fairly slow to come and although I was tempted by the freebie Hors d'oeuvre, which were delicious I couldn't help feeling I wish the extra effort had gone into prep; of my main, but the wait was worth it. The food was fantastic, not a large portion but the quality couldn't be faulted, even including the wine the meal wasn't as expensive as I could have paid in the town centre. The hotel offers a 'six course sampler menu', which may tempt me on my next visit.
There is much to do in and around Ludlow and much to appreciate from its beautiful countryside, I was so impressed by my first visit I have booked to go back for a few days break away from work in the near future at Fishmore Hall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Yesterday was our second visit to Fishmore Hall Hotel and it was a birthday treat for my sister and her husband, who hadn't stayed there before. It didn't disappoint. We had the 6 course tasting menu and accompanying wines and it was incredible; probably one of the best meals I have ever had. The rooms, the service, and the food were absolutely first class and I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing