We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with an excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions and have without fail always received excellent hospitality from the friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are all well appointed and very comfortable.

The restaurant is fantastic. Not sure why they haven't got a Micheline star rating yet. They use local, seasonal produce and they have very good wine list. There are other great fine-dining restaurants in Ludlow but we always look forward an evening at Fishmore Hall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    194
    68
    26
    17
See reviews for
78
597
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to stay here for Christmas with my Grandad who is in his 90's and so glad that we did. We booked the 2 night package which included afternoon tea on Christmas Eve, dinner, full breakfast, Christmas lunch, supper and full breadfast on boxing day. Every meal we ate was of excellent quality and plentiful as you would expect at this time of year. The rooms were lovely and luxurious. The service throughout our stay was exceptitional. All at what I would consider a very reasonable price for this time of year. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walls65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed and dined at the Fishmore. The hotel was excellent value and the staff were charming and welcoming. The food prepared by chef David was delicious - it was both imaginative and beautufully presented.Special treats at the Fishmore include the use of excellent massage and spa treatments and a short cookery course organised with David the chef who taught three rather inexpert appretices how to fillet and prepare fish.
Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Looked interesting on the website, so booked for a family Sunday Lunch.
Lovely elegant setting, comfortable sitting room, plain but light and airy restaurant with country views, nicely laid and well spaced tables. The overall effect puts Fishmore Hall in a much higher bracket than pub restaurants.
The Sunday lunch menu is limited, but the quality of the food is very high, and it's beautifully presented. It's also very good value.
The service was terrific throughout. Very pleasant staff, prompt with everything, attentive without being obtrusive.
It's an hour away, but as we meet family and friends in this area quite often we'll certainly eat there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deacon_Troller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were given a table that didnt havent a table cloths like most of the other tables and we werent offered a menu,but other guests were.Apart from that an excellent tea,very fresh cakes and delicious sandwiches.Plenty of tea and coffee and spotlessly clean.
Would highly recommend and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aken510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a voucher for a one night stay with dinner and breakfast. Asked for a room with a bath and told that would be fine. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded but the room had no bath and no rooms available with a bath as the hotel was full. I asked if there were any treatment slots available for spa treatments and told by the receptionist they would ring and let me know, no phone call came. Dinner booking was made for wrong time so a bit of a bad start. Room was nice and clean but was lacking something. Dinner was amazing and our waiter was great. Breakfast was a real let down after reading reviews on here. Cereals were out and one small slate with two croissants, two Apple lattice and two other pastries and that was it for a full hotel, no fresh fruit, no yoghurt, no cheese, fresh breads, meats etc. all a bit odd. The cooked breakfast choice was ok but nothing wow, where was the French toast, pancakes etc. it was all a bit predictable and compared with dinner it was a real let down. I also sat with dirty,plates in front of me despite the waitress bringing coffee to the table and seeing the plates there. They seemed more interested in resetting tables. The hotel is lacking something. Whilst dinner is great it needs more than that for me to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Went for one night - took my husband for Christmas in January as had lots of people Christmas time so just a quiet day and night - lovely room - did not have a bath but shower fine. Took our 'spoilt' dog which was great and allowed in all bedrooms and bar/lounge. Fantastic food - 6 course taster menu - took 2.5hours for dinner - superb! Can easily walk to Ludlow for a visit and went to Clee Hill - very windy!

Room Tip: Take you dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing