We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living social deal”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Living social deal”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just come back tonight after a two night stay with friends at Fishmore Hall. It was absolutely lovely from the moment we stepped in through the front door. Our rooms were ready on arrival at midday, registration was efficiently completed by JJ. Our rooms were perfect, huge sized bed with beautiful décor, Molton Brown lotions and potions in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. The radiators was off in our room but it was not cold there, we left them off and only put them on for 15 minutes first thing in the morning. We had decided previously to dine at the famous Feathers Hotel in Ludlow on the Sunday night and at Fishmore Hall on the Monday night. Big mistake! Fishmore Hall was far superior with a beautifully presented three course meal in the brasserie. The waiters were very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. We had a superb three course meal at £25 per person. I chose rib eye steak and it was the best steak I'd had for years. Thankyou JJ and Cynthia from Latvia for waiting on us. The ambience everywhere was warm and comfortable with beautiful seating and exquisite curtains. A very enjoyable stay and we will definitely come back . We are keen walkers so walked into Ludlow town on both days which took twenty minutes. Only complaint was there was no salt and pepper on every table and we had to ask for this!

Room Tip: Our friends had room 5 which was very big with a big wet room over looking the car park, their only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eulanwy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    202
    71
    27
    17
See reviews for
80
615
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was a valentine's treat - a stay in a country house hotel with a two hour one to one session with the chef (at extra cost).
The hotel/hall looked the business as we approached but the entrance was shabby and reception was more of an office desk at the foot of the stairs. Anyway, that to one side we were shown to our room. First impressions were good - light and airy but VERY cold. The radiator hadn't been turned on which was unforgivable given the weather conditions and old windows that did nothing to ward off the elements.
Bathroom OK except for a large, badly repaired crack all down the bath-side wall. Towel style radiator was full of air rather than hot water, meaning the bathroom was cold too. So I pointed out the issue at reception
Time for our chef experience. .
Overall it was good - we asked a fair amount of questions so didn't get to do anything other than prepare a main course. As far as I'm aware there was no obligation to pay for and/or eat it later but we said we'd like it for dinner. Taste the fruits of our labour, as it were.
(Just one criticism - I remarked that I should have taken a notebook but the chef kindly offered to jot some notes down as to ingredients used, processes followed etc. I didn't get this. Had I remembered before setting off for home I would have asked).
Back to the room - radiator still 1/3 hot. Telephoned reception and asked whether someone had assessed it and would it be fixed. I was advised it was being looked into.
Down for dinner. Lovely starter but SMALL. Main course was our creation. SMALL portion. (Who had the rest, I wonder?) No hot puddings or pastries or cakes. Just ice creams/sorbets. So it had to be cheese for me. My partner had a TINY pair of ice cream things.
Still no mended radiator.
On our second night there we ate out at a glorious pub in town. Excellent food and a millionth of the prices at Fishmore.
Breakfast was good but everything had to be ordered from the kitchen. After selecting fresh fruit and omelette the menu was whisked away indicating that I'd had my allowance. Or so it seemed.
Sound picky?????
Yes, I am. When prices are ramped up to the £140+ per night, I expect a certain standard. This didn't meet it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILovetheSeadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions and have without fail always received excellent hospitality from the friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are all well appointed and very comfortable.

The restaurant is fantastic. Not sure why they haven't got a Micheline star rating yet. They use local, seasonal produce and they have very good wine list. There are other great fine-dining restaurants in Ludlow but we always look forward an evening at Fishmore Hall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to stay here for Christmas with my Grandad who is in his 90's and so glad that we did. We booked the 2 night package which included afternoon tea on Christmas Eve, dinner, full breakfast, Christmas lunch, supper and full breadfast on boxing day. Every meal we ate was of excellent quality and plentiful as you would expect at this time of year. The rooms were lovely and luxurious. The service throughout our stay was exceptitional. All at what I would consider a very reasonable price for this time of year. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walls65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed and dined at the Fishmore. The hotel was excellent value and the staff were charming and welcoming. The food prepared by chef David was delicious - it was both imaginative and beautufully presented.Special treats at the Fishmore include the use of excellent massage and spa treatments and a short cookery course organised with David the chef who taught three rather inexpert appretices how to fillet and prepare fish.
Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Looked interesting on the website, so booked for a family Sunday Lunch.
Lovely elegant setting, comfortable sitting room, plain but light and airy restaurant with country views, nicely laid and well spaced tables. The overall effect puts Fishmore Hall in a much higher bracket than pub restaurants.
The Sunday lunch menu is limited, but the quality of the food is very high, and it's beautifully presented. It's also very good value.
The service was terrific throughout. Very pleasant staff, prompt with everything, attentive without being obtrusive.
It's an hour away, but as we meet family and friends in this area quite often we'll certainly eat there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deacon_Troller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were given a table that didnt havent a table cloths like most of the other tables and we werent offered a menu,but other guests were.Apart from that an excellent tea,very fresh cakes and delicious sandwiches.Plenty of tea and coffee and spotlessly clean.
Would highly recommend and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aken510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing