We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel.”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel.”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Unfortunately only stayed for the one night. Room was huge with a ginormous bed. Ensuite bathroom had a large walk in shower with an excellent power shower. Nice toiletries too.

Nice touches like a turn down service. The best of these being room service for breakfast in bed in the morning. Was a shame it was half an hour late but it was really good otherwise. One piece of toast each was perhaps a little stingy.

This was a birthday treat for me. Last year was the Celtic Manor and this was every bit as good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercurystar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    202
    71
    27
    17
See reviews for
80
617
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Spent a fabulous weekend at the fishmore,very relaxing,staff couldn't do enough for you and a lovely spacious room.The bed was huge and the bathroom was lovely with a great big walk in shower.It is little things that make it extra special like the home made biscuits we asked for.Would highly recommend this and hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent a lovely break at this hotel for two nights during the half term. The rooms was lovely with a huge bed scattered with rose petals . It was tastefully decorated , we had a huge bath and a walk in shower and lots of nice Molton Brown toiletries and huge fluffy white bathrobes and towels. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We dined in the restaurant which was amazing, the food was definitely Michelin Star quality. We had palate cleansers between courses. My only gripe was that it was early Monday evening and there was only a choice of four main courses and one if them had ended at 8pm so only choice of three mains. The portions were as I expected for high end cuisine but we were not disappointed. We ended with a selection do cheese and a fine port.
Breakfast was excellent , buffet then a choice of cooked breakfasts all served beautifully by lovely staff in a sunny dining room with a conservatory.
I cannot speak highly enough of the restaurant amazing food experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creamtea1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a short break in Ludlow and stayed at Fishmore Hall. The hotel has a great atmosphere. The staff are very pleasant and helpful Our room was excellent. We ate at the hotel and tried the 6 course tasting menu. This was a great experience. The chef amended one of the courses for us 9thank you!) and we thoroughly enjoyed it. My only issue was that we only stayed one night! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just come back tonight after a two night stay with friends at Fishmore Hall. It was absolutely lovely from the moment we stepped in through the front door. Our rooms were ready on arrival at midday, registration was efficiently completed by JJ. Our rooms were perfect, huge sized bed with beautiful décor, Molton Brown lotions and potions in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. The radiators was off in our room but it was not cold there, we left them off and only put them on for 15 minutes first thing in the morning. We had decided previously to dine at the famous Feathers Hotel in Ludlow on the Sunday night and at Fishmore Hall on the Monday night. Big mistake! Fishmore Hall was far superior with a beautifully presented three course meal in the brasserie. The waiters were very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. We had a superb three course meal at £25 per person. I chose rib eye steak and it was the best steak I'd had for years. Thankyou JJ and Cynthia from Latvia for waiting on us. The ambience everywhere was warm and comfortable with beautiful seating and exquisite curtains. A very enjoyable stay and we will definitely come back . We are keen walkers so walked into Ludlow town on both days which took twenty minutes. Only complaint was there was no salt and pepper on every table and we had to ask for this!

Room Tip: Our friends had room 5 which was very big with a big wet room over looking the car park, their only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eulanwy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was a valentine's treat - a stay in a country house hotel with a two hour one to one session with the chef (at extra cost).
The hotel/hall looked the business as we approached but the entrance was shabby and reception was more of an office desk at the foot of the stairs. Anyway, that to one side we were shown to our room. First impressions were good - light and airy but VERY cold. The radiator hadn't been turned on which was unforgivable given the weather conditions and old windows that did nothing to ward off the elements.
Bathroom OK except for a large, badly repaired crack all down the bath-side wall. Towel style radiator was full of air rather than hot water, meaning the bathroom was cold too. So I pointed out the issue at reception
Time for our chef experience. .
Overall it was good - we asked a fair amount of questions so didn't get to do anything other than prepare a main course. As far as I'm aware there was no obligation to pay for and/or eat it later but we said we'd like it for dinner. Taste the fruits of our labour, as it were.
(Just one criticism - I remarked that I should have taken a notebook but the chef kindly offered to jot some notes down as to ingredients used, processes followed etc. I didn't get this. Had I remembered before setting off for home I would have asked).
Back to the room - radiator still 1/3 hot. Telephoned reception and asked whether someone had assessed it and would it be fixed. I was advised it was being looked into.
Down for dinner. Lovely starter but SMALL. Main course was our creation. SMALL portion. (Who had the rest, I wonder?) No hot puddings or pastries or cakes. Just ice creams/sorbets. So it had to be cheese for me. My partner had a TINY pair of ice cream things.
Still no mended radiator.
On our second night there we ate out at a glorious pub in town. Excellent food and a millionth of the prices at Fishmore.
Breakfast was good but everything had to be ordered from the kitchen. After selecting fresh fruit and omelette the menu was whisked away indicating that I'd had my allowance. Or so it seemed.
Sound picky?????
Yes, I am. When prices are ramped up to the £140+ per night, I expect a certain standard. This didn't meet it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILovetheSeadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions and have without fail always received excellent hospitality from the friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are all well appointed and very comfortable.

The restaurant is fantastic. Not sure why they haven't got a Micheline star rating yet. They use local, seasonal produce and they have very good wine list. There are other great fine-dining restaurants in Ludlow but we always look forward an evening at Fishmore Hall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing