We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so fishy”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“not so fishy”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay in Fishmore Hall in March, though I did think there was a little room for improvement!. We found our bedroom quite comfortable, but not particularly interesting.The view was over nice country side but our window to my surprise was in quite poor condition and badly needed replacing. The bathroom was pretty snazzy.There is a teapot with a selection of various teas but where was the home cooked shortbread advertised? It didn't appear at all. The dining room was closed on our first night so we ate in the bar. It was fine but our experience in the dining room the next night was terrific.The food was delicious. The hotel is quite understated in its décor and while comfortable and warm I felt it lacked atmosphere and could do with some colour. The staff were all charming. However, the grounds really need some TLC. It is a shame because they area is quite small and it wouldn't take a lot to pretty it up. the initial impression when you drive in is disappointing. A work in progress I guess.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romantic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    211
    74
    27
    17
See reviews for
84
630
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for a weekend over Easter and ate in the restaurant on our first night. The food was very good but the service was slow and the atmosphere was lacking.
Our breakfast was also good but again service slow and some of the staff lacked experience and common sense when waiting at the table ie we asked for more toast which took too long to arrive, and when it did staff didn't bring more butter so we had a further wait, the toast was by now cold.
We also had afternoon tea which was served in a rather soulless lounge which contained far too much ghastly brown furniture. On this occasion the food was not so good. Initially the order was wrong, the scones were undercooked and we had to ask for more clotted cream as only given a very small portion for 4 scones. My tea was cold by the time they brought the lemon. I then sat for over an hour in this room reading, 3 members of staff came in, said nothing and walked out. Disappointing service.
The hotel in general could do with a spruce up, chipped and flaking paint, dirty fingerprints etc.
Our room was spacious with a lovely view, comfortable bed and great shower. However, bathroom door jammed and no blinds at bathroom window.
The gardens were well maintained and our dog was allowed in the lounge, there was a smell of sewage in the carpark which appeared to originate from what looked like a septic tank positioned too close to the hotel.
The staff on the whole friendly and helpful but with some inconsistencies in level of service.
One final point about housekeeping, we returned from a day out to find our room door open!
Overall, we were disappointed with our stay and would be unlikely to return except to the restaurant.
When asked on the feedback about value for money, we have defiantly had better.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have nice views. Rooms at back must be noisy due to large air conditioning u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krumbles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Other than the weather what a perfect weekend. Accommodation of very high, well maintained standard. The 9 course tasting menu with matching wines was excellent. Best of all the staff. ALL really really helpful and very pleasant. A credit to this fine hotel. Will stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bbjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived in the rain but our stay started well as the hotel door was opened for us and we were greeted warmly. Check in was swift and we were shown to our room which was light and spacious with a larger than king size bed. There was a personalised letter, welcoming us and providing useful information. On the first night we opted for the a la carte menu. At first glance I was not confident that it would be value for money. However, once we'd selected our starter and main course we were given canapés. On arrival at our table, we were served an amuse-bouche. Next the bread basket arrived with 4 freshly baked rolls. The food we had ordered was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. We couldn't resist dessert or the suggested dessert wine. While my soufflé was cooking we were served a palate freshener. The desserts were the grande finale to a beautiful meal and the wines matched perfectly. With the extras and the quality of the food and service, the meal provided value and exceeded the quality of that provided in some Michelin starred restaurants. The bed was turned back when we returned to the room and hospitality tray replenished. We slept really well as the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast selection was excellent. After our day out, we opted for bar meals on our second night. They were the best bar meals we had ever eaten and the level of service the same as we had received in the restaurant the previous night. All the staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The food for all meals was locally sourced and delicious. We enjoyed our short stay and hope to return to sample the food in a different season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DotQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights in April and found the hotel to be ideal for exploring Ludlow! Nice room, friendly staff and short walk from town! Restaurant was a la carte and abit pricey! Breakfast great and lovely food! Bar was a little quiet at night and no music in background! Needs abit more atmosphere and to relax abit more!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andylemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The tea and coffee making facilities are of very good quality with the addition of a wonderful tray of homemade biscuits. The breakfasts are lovely with good quality ingredients and nicely cooked. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The whole hotel is tastefully decorated throughout and is in a lovely setting with a nice garden.

As far as we are concerned, this hotel could not do anything more to make your stay more special. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernfhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed over night as we attended a friends Wedding at Ludlow Castle.
It's a lovely hotel. Clean, fresh looking, it has a contemporary look to it, lovely decor. It has a bar on the left as you enter reception area on the left. Plenty of seating areas to lounge in.
We went out in the evening and as we got back we saw the bed was remade as we had an afternoon nap. There was also weather info for the next day on Ludlow (I thought it was a good touch).
Breakfast was nice, as I'm a Vegetarian and don't eat Egg the kitchen made me a plate with mushroom, sauté small potatoes, steamed Spinach & a grilled tomato it was lovely.
It was a pleasant stay & we would stay there again if/when we revisit Ludlow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Super-MuM-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
762 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Property: Fishmore Hall
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing