We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country house hotel with a modern twist”
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fishmore Hall
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The hotel is a little outside Ludlow, a reasonable walk but a short drive from the town centre. The room was large and modern but had some character. We stayed on an offer that made it good value, but full price it was quite expensive. We had dinner one evening which was very good, particularly the apple crumble souffle for pudding!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

As an event manager I stay in many hotels all over the world but Fishmore Hall has got to be one of best that I have ever visited. This visit was for my husband's birthday so for once it was a leisure trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the decor was a lovely mix of modern chic. Our bedroom was huge but the bathroom was exceptional with a massive bath and seperate shower, fluffy towels/bathrobes and Molton Brown. The food was outstanding. We had the Tasting Menu with wines, every course was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. After a brilliant night's sleep we had breakfast in the restaurant which was another gastronomic delight! I would certainly recommend Fishmore Hall

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allotmentgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Just came back from a one night stay in Ludlow, very nice hotel. Stayed in a great room, very spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was a comfortable king size bed. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. Location - it's ~20 minute easy walk into town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravelerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My wife and I had an all too brief visit to Fishmore hall, utilising a free voucher from Morethan. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating (excuse pun) as the receptionist dropped us in town in her own car, when taxis were not immediately available. The room was beautiful, with a huge bed and a walk in shower in the en suite, Absolutely excelllent in every way, with fabulous views across Shopshire.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_Eynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My wife and I spent another happy stay at Fishmore Hall over Valentines Day. The special 7 course taster menu with matching wines was delicious and varied - we thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was attentive and helpful but not pushy or overbearing - like in some other hotels we have visited.

Once again we were delighted by the rooms and the simple tasteful modern decor set within a Georgian building.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodlandq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We booked our weekend stay at Fishmore Hall last September for Valentines day. After a long 4 hour drive on Friday night we were warmly welcomed by the Fishmore staff and shown to our more than comfortable room, complete with wet room which was a nice surprise. We didn't book a large room but ours was certainly big enough for us and the bed was HUGE! Decor was clean and very tasteful, right up our street, and we had a fantastic view of the Shropshire countryside.

On our first morning we ordered what we wanted from the breakfast menu and had it delivered to our room, at no extra cost, which was fabulous.Throughout our stay the staff at Fishmore provided us with lots of places to see and things to do. We walked up to Ludlow town (an easy 15 minute walk) to take in the local shops and market which was great.

On our last day we had Sunday lunch (which was included in the price of the room) and both of us were blown away by how good the food was. We'd eaten at the Michelin starred La Becasse in Ludlow the night before and the food at Fishmore was equally as enjoyable. In fact, we both commented that the raspberry souffle was one of the nicest deserts we have ever eaten (and we regularly eat at Michelin starred restaurants).

All in all a lovely romantic getaway and we believe good value for money. There were a couple of tiny things, like the fact that the tv signal in our room wasn't great, but we're definitely half glass full people (unlke a lot of moaners on here) and don't let that kind of thing bother us!

If you live near Ludlow go and eat here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmykoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed after a wine tasting lunch. The very precious but precise food was excellent but unsatisfying. We booked one of the very cheap rooms, it was perfectly adequate, clean and everything worked. A good view from the room and a good breakfast, but again focus was on geometric presentation ahead of substance. Interior was clean, clinical and sadly boring.
Had more fun in the evening at the loacl pubs and the Thai restaurant.
Worth going back but don't spend silly money on the big rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gohughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
480 reviews
1 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £80 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow, Shropshire
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing