We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property
The Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary
The view from the balcony Living room with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Granary
The view from the balcony
Living room with wood burning stove
The kitchen
The bathroom
The bedroom
The entry hall
Patio
Shropshire sheep
British Lop pig
Buff Sussex
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ludlow, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michael c...
1 review
“Fantastic relaxing break”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here for a night in January for a relaxing break, the surrounding area of Ludlow is beautiful, we had a nice lunch in a small cafe and a stroll around the town. The cottage was brilliant, such a cosy place. The owners were very welcoming and the breakfast was fantastic. We will definitely be back again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex_Wan...
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. The Granary has been converted into accommodation with an incredible amount of thought. Old and new have been blended well together which gives it charm and makes for a lovely stay. The property is of a very high standard and the upstairs (open plan lounge and kitchen) is light and airy. Décor is straight out of a good housekeeping magazine and there are some lovely personal touches e.g. sprigs of blossom dotted around the premises. The property was spotless.

The Granary is at one end of the small village of Richards Castle in a very peaceful location. Lovely views over rolling countryside. Richard Castle is itself just a couple of miles from the main A49 trunk road; so affords easy access.

This is ideal for anyone who wants to get away from it all and have a few days peace and quiet in beautiful countryside or for anyone who needs a base to explore South Shropshire/North Herefordshire, but doesn’t want to stay in a town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbil10
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year getaway”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Wonderful accommodation. We enjoyed the stunning location and the 5 star amenities. Super comfy HUGE bed with beautiful linen. Amazing shower and underfloor heating. . Fabulous walks on the doorstep then back to a very cozy woodburner. Loved it all !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laister60
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“The Granary........Beautiful, luxurious and relaxing.”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Just visited The Granary for a long weekend to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. This is a beautifully converted building which is furnished to an extremely high standard. I can't single out any part of it as it's all gorgeous ! The huge walk in wet room shower, the huge king size bed with wonderful bed linen , the super comfy suite, views to die for! The welcome pack was a lovely surprise...... The wine went down well! We ordered a breakfast pack of local produce which was delicious and plenty for 2 days!
Prior to our visit I emailed Julian quite a bit and he was friendly and very helpful. We met Jane ( and Harvey the dulux dog!) when we arrived and she was just lovely showing us around.
We absolutely loved The Granary and recommend it to anyone looking for a really relaxing holiday with lots to see and do round about, but also to just chill out in wonderful warm comfy surroundings.
We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G
Sidmouth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely fabulous converted Barn. High specification, fittings and finish. Photos don't do it justice, it exceeded by far our expectations and we thought extremely competitively priced.
Wouldn't change a thing and we wish the owners great success because they clearly deserve it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzyshep
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation is 5 Star +, the conversion from a granary barn to self contained accommodation has been well thought out and executed brilliantly. There is even a separate utility area with a bike rack and a clothes drying rail with it's own door which is fully lockable, perfect for cyclist and or walkers to leave their gear.
The hosts could not have been more helpful and whilst living on site they were in no way intrusive, you would not know they were around, but could always be called upon for advice (i.e. the best and quickest way to the forest).
All in all a perfect location and accommodation, all made better with watching Jane's horse in the paddock outside the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stunning cottage and beautiful views. A lovely welcoming from Julian and Jane showed us around the cottage, which is too an excellent standard everything you need. The breakfast pack was lovely fresh local products. We loved our stay in this beautiful well appointed cottage being the best we have stayed in. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything the cottage was beautiful
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing