We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ludlow Castle Apartments

Ludlow Castle Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ludlow Castle Apartments
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“A really nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

This was our second visit to Castle House and we enjoyed it as much as the first. Our apartment, Prince Arthur and Catherine of Aragon, was just as we remembered - spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The views from the apartment of the castle and the surrounding hills were great and even though the other two apartments were occupied during our stay we didn't notice any noise whatsoever.

Reserved parking is right outside and the location is excellent, within easy walking distance of many restaurants and the River Teme. We will certainly be visiting again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank tot2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

The staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful. The views are great, the setting quiet. Good floorplan for 2 couples. Excellent welcome materials, guides about town, and whatnot. Only quibble would be insufficient hot water for 4 people to take morning showers, but we sorted that out and had no problems otherwise. Highly recommended if you want to stay at a castle, or near a great foodie location like Ludlow. A good value for 2 couples. Recommended and couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patchcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

A three-day stay in 'luxury' self-catering apartment (Prince Arthur & Catherine of Aragon). Very nice bedrooms, big sitting/dining room and main bathroom, but small kitchen. Lovely to be in accommodation actually set into the castle wall and see the castle from the window, very peaceful (thick walls = soundproofing), well-appointed and nicely furnished but didn't feel hugely luxurious. Weather was poor and apartment slightly chilly, though staff were very friendly and helpful and I'm sure would have sorted this out, had we got round to asking. Small basket of cheese, crackers, jam (not really a hamper) + a few necessities including wine on arrival. Ludlow itself very nice to potter about in, nice walks, plenty of good pubs as well as the posh restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Everything about staying here is fantastic. We had the top floor apartment (Comus) and the rooms were lovely ... and our very own terrace where we watched the sun go down sipping our complementary bottle of wine. The entrance to the apartments thrilled us every time, as huge door set into castle walls even though you're going through to spacious contemporary apartments.
Helen (the custodian) was also a gem ! She has a real passion for the place and it shows

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brotherhood82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Ludlow Castle Apartments capped off the most perfect tour of England! Reservations very easy, and we were greeted with wine, cheese, bread, milk, tea and coffee, eggs all in our kitchen, with a full dining room, living room, two elegant bedrooms and baths. We immediately adopted to the slower pace of this wonderful city, and loved the village shops. Would love to stay here a month or more. Only drawback--could not find an open restaurant during the week for dinner! Oh, well, we had our own kitchen, and a market just a block away. Wonderful place, and plenty of room for a family.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dresser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jc30
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

We stayed for a 3 night break over Valentines weekend after finding the details via an online search. Booking was easy by telephone and everyone we spoke to was extremely helpful. The apartment (Prince Arthur & Catherine of Aragon) was exactly as it appears in the photos - no unexpected surprises! It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the facilities you would need. It was also very warm and cosy - very important in early February and the welcome pack was delightful. We enjoyed sipping our wine and looking out at the view of the wonderfully spooky castle ruins. Ludlow town centre is just a step outside the door but the apartment is very peaceful - no traffic or other noise to disturb the atmosphere. There is a designated parking space for each apartment just outside the main castle entrance, although we did find that if we went out during the day, sneaky shoppers would pinch the spaces! Luckily we usually returned around 5 p.m. so most shoppers had left by then! We would certainly recommend Ludlow Castle Apartments for the standard of accommodation and the friendly, helpful welcome, as well as the fantastic location.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

Welcome from Pam was great - there was bread, crackers, butter, cheese, jam, coffee, tea and wine waiting for us.

Apt was large with two bedrooms and two baths, full kitchen including dishwasher and laundry and so gorgeous.

Ludlow is the ultimate English town - with a daily market in the square.

Wonderful and we would go back anytime!

  • Liked — the apt was beautiful and right on the Castle grounds
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMLSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#7 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludlow Castle Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow Castle Apartments

Property: Ludlow Castle Apartments
Address: Castle Square, Ludlow SY8 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three self-catering apartments, each with two bedrooms/bathrooms, sitting/dining room and fully equipped kitchen. Private car parking. Set in the walls of medieval Ludlow Castle and the centre of town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ludlow Castle Apartments Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing