We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
kitchen/dining area Kitchen area - sink and hob also oven accessible to wheelchair users
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
kitchen/dining area
Kitchen area - sink and hob also oven accessible to wheelchair users
two single electric beds can be clipped together to make superking size. Built-in wardrobe & drawers
downstairs bedroom showing superking bed
wetroom showing shower chair and support rails by toilet (washer/drier behind door in the corner)
cozy log fire for the winter months
single bedroom upstairs with vanity unit
inbuilt storage in downstairs bedroom
downstairs bedroom showing beds arranged as two singles
bedroom showing (hired) hoist by single bed raised with bed raisers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hellsbell...
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heavenly holiday!”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Cheese room cottage is beautiful. We wanted for nothing, everything had been thought of. Upon arrival the heating was on and a real tree in the lounge had its lights on, there were biscuits, mince pies, milk butter, cheese and a bottle of prosecco all waiting for us. The cottage is perfect for those with mobility issues and lovely if do not.
very well equipped and amazingly comfortable beds, excellent shower and washer/dryer. even though we started our holiday on boxing day and did have some snow the cottage was warm and cosy with the added benefit of a log burner. The enclosed yard is perfect for our four legged friend who also enjoyed his holiday.
The surrounding area is really nice. Some of our days out included Chester, Ludlow and Shrewsbury and the massive outlet village near Ellesmere Port for some bargains. Great places to eat too!
Karen is the perfect host, she is there if you need her but not at all intrusive.
It was also really nice seeing the beautiful Grey horses that live behind the cottage. We met them and were introduced to them and saw them most days going past the cottage.
We had a perfect week and we will be returning, maybe in the warmer months as there are some great walks in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Wow! Thank you so much for that lovely review. I do hope it encourages lots of people to come and experience this beautiful part of Shropshire as we've always said it is a hidden gem in this area of the country. So glad you had a good time and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne N
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Cottage, great for wheelchair users”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My profoundly disabled daughter, 2 dogs, and I spent a great week in this beautiful, excellently equipped cottage. Everything you could want or wish for was either on hand or Karen(the owner)was more than willing to arrange or advise as to where you could get it. The countryside around the area is beautiful and if you're able you can walk for miles. An extra bonus was the lovely welcome pack provided. Another bonus was the small stable behind the cottage with 4 lovely horses owned by a kind lady who made lots of time for my daughter. A cottage that I would return to without hesitation! Lovely cottage, fab people!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thank you so much, Lynne, and we are delighted that you love this beautiful part of Shropshire. We hope very much to welcome you again - perhaps we can arrange a trip down the river for you. Both the boat on the River Severn in Shrewsbury and the local canal boat trust have facilities to take wheelchairs - just a thought. Very best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnadp71
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here on a 4 night break with a wheelchair user, the cottage is so we'll set up there was no problems getting round. There is everything in the cottage you need. Karen the host is lovely , made us very welcome and an problem was sorted straight away. Bonus being able to bring are little dog. Lots to do around the area. Will definitely recommend the cheese room to others. A little gem in the heart of Shropshire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and we're so pleased that the cottage had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable and easy with the wheelchair.
Best wishes,
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent for people with disabilities”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Relaxing break in the countryside, close to many attractions like Ironbridge. The cottage itself is well kitted out and homely. Clean and comfortable, it was a pleasure to stay and we hope to go back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you, Wendy, for your complimentary review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the cottage had all you needed. I would like to thank you too for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime.
Best wishes,
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you so much, Joy, you've made my day with that glowing review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and that you found everything to your liking. This area of Shropshire is an absolute delight and there will be lots for you to discover when you return. We will look forward to seeing you all again sometime.
Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JCas20
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous little cottage in stunning countryside”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a relaxing long weekend away and couldn't fault a thing! The cottage is all newly finished and includes everything you need - we arrived late in the evening, so were very pleased to find fresh milk, teabags etc all provided and some lovely home-baked goodies :)
Also loved the log burning fire which was amazing to cosy up in front of after a long walk out in the country. The countryside is beautiful with plenty of nice walks - we liked talking to the nearby horses and watching the sun set behind the hills which turned the sky lovely colours. We did wonder whether it would be strange that the cottage was fitted for a wheelchair user (we are not disabled) but it didn't make any difference whatsoever. We asked the owner about recommendations for local pubs for dinner on the Saturday night and they were really helpful with giving us a list of places and directions - we went to The Bear Hotel in the village and had a wonderful steak, well worth a visit there as part of your stay. Overall an idyllic stay in an idyllic setting and would certainly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thank you, Jonathan, for your very complimentary review. So glad you both enjoyed our lovely countryside too - you were certainly lucky with the weather that weekend. Hope we will see you again sometime for a return visit.
Kind regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EddieD207
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in a lovely County”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thought that the Cheeseroom Cottage was very well appointed. Very comfortable friendly owner and would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful cottage for a very restful stay within reach of all that Shropshire has to offer. We would recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The appointment of the cottage was of very high order
Liked least: A coffee table in the lounge would have been handy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments. It was lovely to meet you both and I'm glad you enjoyed visiting all the lovely places around here. You are welcome again at any time.
Kindest regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing