We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent base”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Booked two rooms.Easy access just off of A5. Ample parking. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast of reasonable quality and good selection which is included in price. If you want better quality than a Days Inn / Travelodge then go for this. Only drawback is that there is no on-site alternative for dining but there are plenty nearby within a short car journey.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    268
    108
    42
    15
See reviews for
103
322
35
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A warm welcome from the main desk and details of the hotel facilities was good.
The room was fine and good value for money.
the only draw back is the location on a business park and there no signs from the main road to the hotel! You need to travel into town to get something to eat and drink.
I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for a quiet room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester,UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

1ST time at a Hampton and it was better than a HI express. The level of the room was excellent King size bed, Flat screen TV with all free view channels, Iron board , hair-dryer. Normal tea coffee and a very good shower with soap and shower gel dispensers

Only disadvantage was that there was no where local to eat so its either by car or in the bar.

Breakfast was good !

Staff very polite !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We chose this hotel after reading previous reviews, competitive price, and photo's, we were not let down. We was attending a family wedding and after reading review of the hotel where the reception was held (Offering a discount price) decided that this was a better deal and a lot quieter. The rooms were as shown in the pictures (not as some show when new but now have a little wear and tear) The breakfast was filling and the bar service which we only used on the first night (Stayed 2 nights and still beat the price offered by the hotel in Shrewsbury) very easy to find with the directionsand staff were attentive and helpful. wanted to see a little bit of the area on the sunday but the weather changed for the worse so will be back later in the year to use as a base. Much Wenlock is only 10 miles away (Home of the modern Olympics) and Ludlow a very pretty medieval town is only 20 miles away. Highly reccommend this hotel if you are not bothered about the twee 4 poster bed rooms offered by the hotels in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Submersable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights and I thought the hotel was very good value for money. The staff were nice and friendly and the room was large, modern and very clean with a really good en-suite. The only drawback with the hotel for some people might be its location, it;s a good 30 minutes walk into town and as it is located on a business park there isn't anything close to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We wanted a low cost hotel to stay at for a family of 5, and this was brilliant.
There are 5 of us in our family, which meant we had to book 2 rooms.
Due to me having a fair number of Hilton Honor points, I only paid for part of the 2nd room! (hence slightly higher rating!)
On the off chance, I thought I would see if I could get interconnecting rooms, as it would mean that the children could stay next door, and my wife & I share a bed.
Phoning up, they were really accomodating and managed to do just that! (I thought that being a 3/4* Hilton, they might not be able to do this)
The clenliness of the hotel was great, and looked quite new.
Whats more, the breakfast was included, which you had a choice of continental or full.
The TV's however only had Freeview, no films.
Staff were really friendly, and would stay again if passing through - well done Hilton!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNLowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were over on a short business trip. We were plesantly surprised with the quality of the hotel for the price - £59 for a double room including breakfast! The room was modern and spacious as was the rest of the hotel. Staff were all very helpful. Reccomend highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titteringtonrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
642 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing