We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Berkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stop over”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over on route to north wales. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good. Location wise, it was just outside of Shrewsbury, which suited our needs.

Hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandS_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    268
    108
    42
    15
See reviews for
103
322
35
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was the first time I used the Hampton hotels by Hilton. I regularly use the Hilton hotel so I had high-expectations for Hampton.

The result is really... mixed.

I liked:
-the fast free WiFi internet
-the free hot breakfast
-the room - very spacious
-the TV - lots of channels

I disliked:
-service was really so-so: receptionist does not seem friendly - poker face
-beds (if you had a twin beds) is TOO small. Way too small.
-no minifridge
-bad location - deep inside business park away from Town centre

To conclude, the Hampton is not bad for the price. It reminds you of Hilton however the service is nowhere near it's parent hotel. If you are on a rather tight-budget but would like decent quality accommodation, go for Hampton you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Situated on the outer edge of a smart business park about two miles from the centre of Shrewsbury, this is an upmarket version of Travelodge, with well-designed and equipped rooms and a dining area and bar near reception. A full hot breakfast is included in a very competitive price. The staff are friendly and helpful. We will certainly use Hampton by Hilton again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrockerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel is a bit far out of town to walk in, however the taxi into the centre is only about £5. The room was huge, comfortable and well equipped. There was a shower, but no bath, something that I am coming across more and more these days. The food at breakfast was good, hot and there was plenty of it. The only negative is that there was quite a lot of noise from other residents. It was a Saturday night and we were woken up twice, once at 2am and once at 4pm. The staff were helpful and as always, the Hilton Group meet your expectations.

Room Tip: Keep as far away from footfall as possible, the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATCOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have stayed a few times at this hotel - it is conveniently located near to family and is reasonably priced so we return frequently. It is very comfortable - the rooms are a good size and always clean. The breakfast is fairly standard - what I would expect from this type of hotel/price. The staff are always helpful and welcoming. You do need a car to stay here as it is not easy to get to by public transport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Nicely designed large room with a king size bed which unfortunately wasn't very comfortable. Bathroom is excellent with a very large walk-in shower (no bath).
Breakfast on Sunday morning was 'grab-what-you-can' as the hotel was full and everyone seemed to be at breakfast at the same time. Buffet stye but all against one wall and much too small to cope with the numbers. Impossible to get hot toast, hot coffee and a hot breakfast at the same time. Small plates meant that people going back for seconds made the problem worse.
Similar price to Holiday Inns but not as good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here in March 2012. Really welcoming staff and shower was fantastic!! on a business park but getting a taxi to town was no trouble. Would highly recommend! didn't get up for the breakfast though, I do wish I did! I had fish and chips in the night and wasn't really cooked properly that was the only down of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
642 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing