We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

New build on an industrial/office park on the outskirts of Shrewsbury a very short distance from A5. Great location and only a short drive in to the town centre. Hotel very well furnished and rooms very well appointed. Very quiet and all usual furnishings. No bath but large shower in en-suite. The reception area has a bar area which is also where breakfast is taken. Some reviewers have criticised breakfast. The cooked breakfast is very basic with a restricted range but the continental range was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. Will certainly use again. Holiday Inn to be congratulated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwesties56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with a five star rating! We appreciate the fact that we could fulfill all your basic needs to make your trip a happy and comfortable one.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    268
    108
    42
    15
See reviews for
103
322
35
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

As ever a great stay in a HI Express, clean well equipped rooms, great Staff and service.The room in this one was among the best I have stopped in.

The only slight downside is the Bar food menu a bit basic and obviously built around there being no chef to prepare it and so it can be all warmed in a microwave etc.

Room Tip: ROOM 1 is great and a good size for a family if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitsdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and effort to write a review for our property. I am glad you recognize our hotel for providing a good value for money with all the positive in your inclusive review. I can see you have visited our hotel quite a few times.Thanks for your positive comments about the rooms,staff etc.We are working on our evening menu so that our guest can have variety.

Next time you are in Shrewsbury, I trust we can make your stay more memorable.
Looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday night at the end of April. There some slight confusion on arrival about the location of the room but that was dealt with promptly by friendly and helpful staff. They even offered to help us move our luggage to the new room. Because if its location in a Business Park there was very little noise either inside or outside. Room was spacious and comfortable and a member of staff came and showed us how to operate the Air Conditioning. Breakfasts were adequate but not all that much selection (no bacon). Evening meals are pricy for what they offer, so we did not bother with them. Because of its location there was no chance of an evening walk without having to drive. All in all a good location if, as we did, you want to use it as a touring base.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms next to the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpudRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for submitting such a favorable review, we really do appreciate your comments. I am really pleased my staff were able to solve the confusion about the location of the room.Regarding the breakfast, this is something we are reviewing at the moment and we are hoping to reach an agreement which makes it more suitable to all our guests.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

2 night stay. Hotel has a/c. Free wifi. Breakfast is fair. No bacon or ham. Dinner meals prices are steep for the meal served. Quite location, but it's a couple miles to town center. Terri provided great service and assistance , Shara was not helpful at all.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DBrown54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear DBrown54,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad to read that Terri was able to be of great service to you, however, we regret falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend tour. A group of 30 choir members stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is as previously mentioned in other reviews a little out of the way. It was spotless throughout - curtious staff - helpful - polite and efficient. Lovely large rooms with usual appliances which also included iron and ironing board. Good comfy bed and pillows equalled 2 good nights sleep! Lush :)
Breakfast which was self service and included in the price consisted of - tea coffee etc, toast, cereals,fruit, yoghurts, beans, scrambled eggs (only) sausage, (no bacon, toms, mushroom, fried bread, hash browns)
We would certainly use this hotel again if we return to the area in the future.
Thank you to all staff and managment for accommodating us - We'll be back!! (if you'll have us)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 220chris220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you very much for your time in writing such a fantastic review for our Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury was enjoyable and all your needs were met. Our team at the hotel always strives for achieving more and going the extra mile to make each and every guests stay relaxed and memorable. It always puts a smile on our faces when we know that our guest has had an exceptional stay with us and our hospitality was recognized.

Once again let me take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely and positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A good hotel on the outskirts of the town. With no facilities near by this hotel has to work to attract clientele. it just about does this. Clean, larger than usual HIE rooms, with good shower room, again larger than the usual HIE. A quiet location ensures a good night's sleep. The usual breakfast and room rates make this a good value hotel. To improve they should work harder at the evening entertainment / food, the only thing that let them down during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you very much for your time in writing such a fantastic review for our Hotel.

I am glad to know that you had a great experience during your stay with us. It is always nice to know that our team are delivering the high standards to each and every guest staying with us. At our hotel we believe in value for money Our Aim is to make sure our entire guest have an exceptional experience and such a positive comments always helps our team to deliver more.
Just to bring to your notice as well we are working on putting a new menu for the evening .
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and for your recommendation. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely room, clean and comfy, every thing you need including hair dryer and iron, location a bit out of town but on the bus route and a cheap taxi drive away, breakfast was nice and included in the price which you don't get with Travelodge or premier Inn, would recommend.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank welshdragoness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you very much for your time in writing such a fantastic review for our Hotel.

I am very pleased to know that you had a great experience during your stay with us. At Holiday Inn Express we all go extra mile to deliver exceptional guest service. Positive feedback like this always helps to put smile on team’s faces and helps to deliver more.

Please be assured that your feedback will be passed on to to our team in the Hotel>you have rightly stated that our rate includes free breakfast,free internet and free car park.

Once again let me take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
642 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing