We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First class hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just an overnight stay.

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist, spent a comfotable night in a big room with an excellent bathroom, enjoyed a very good breakfast and went on our way rested and well fed.

What more could one askt

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oompah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so pleased that you had a wonderful overall stay.

We have a genuinely friendly team who want to ensure a great stay for our guests and it is always a boost to us when this is recognized. I will of course share your comments with our team and I’m sure they will be delighted to hear that their assistance was appreciated.

I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. - Many Thanks

Kind Regards
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    261
    105
    40
    14
See reviews for
102
310
34
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just had a one night stay which I booked several weeks ago, check was From 3pm we arrived there at 3.55 pm and the friendly receptionist booked us in and sent us up to the room , the maid was in the room next door which our friends were stopping in and she said it will be ready in a minute , but said ours wasn't cleaned yet . I asked how long she said 10 mins. So we went to reception to tell them ( thinking if it was only going to be 10 mins it wouldn't be a very thorough clean !!! ) I asked them to tell us when it would be ready and we sat and had a drink and waited. We were a little concerned about the wait as we needed to get ready and meet friends as we had a table booked in Shrewsbury . After 35 mins nobody had come to us so we went up to room and it was ready but nobody at reception had told us it was ready . So to say book in was from 3pm we didn't get in our room till 4.50 !!! Which made us very rushed and late to meet friends. On a positive note when we did get in room it was very spacious and clean , the facilities were excellent and the shower lovely and powerful and hot :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me take this opportunity to first thank you for highlighting the positives that seem to have made your stay with us a good choice. I would like to apologies for the wait you had to check in in your room and i have already taken the issue with my Housekeeping manager and the duty manager so the same situation never arise in future.

However, I would like to thank you for your comments and feedback and i will make sure i will look into it.
We wait to welcome you back to Shrewsbury soon.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went to stay here for two nights. The room and bathroom were very very clean. Plenty of clean towels in bathroom, Toiletries provided too.
Attention was paid to details, such as little tag placed on the bed pillows to inform people which pillows were soft or firm. I had a very good nights sleep, overlooking the car park. Very quiet!.

Free tea and coffee in the room, and in the reception area.Which I was very thankful for after a long journey.
Bar, TV and free internet. Lounge and dinning area clean.
The staff bent over backwards to help you, nothing was too much trouble for them.

We could not get the heater in the room to work. A young man on reception, I think his name was Craig came straight up from reception and sorted it straight away.

Plenty of choice for breakfast first day. Second day it was very hectic in the dinning room. Everyone wanting breakfast at the same time, again the staff worked like crazy to refill everything as quick as possible.
( I think it was the manager who went to get the scrambled eggs when they ran out.) He was very apologetic at the delay. but as anyone could see they were all working as fast as possible.

All in all, ten out of ten for attention to detail and service. Staff very friendly and seemed to be in twenty places at once!. Rooms very good I would go there again. I enjoyed it very much. The price for the rooms were very reasonable.

Room Tip: quiet rooms looking out onto the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our hotel.

To star with personally i want to thank you for such a lovely review .You have nicely summed up whats Holiday Inn Express is all about. It is important for every hotel to receive feedback from guests in order to find out the positive and negative points. We, at Holiday Inn Express, Shrewsbury believe in the same and work hard to provide the best of services to each and every guest.

A positive feedback like yours is an encouragement for us to perform even better. I am happy to know that our staff ,location and room made your stay a good and hopefully a memorable one.I have already passed on your comment to Craig about his great customer service.

Thank you once again for the lovely review. Looking forward to serve you again.

Kind Regards.
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I stayed Saturday 15/02/14.
Clean from the car park to the small details in the room etc.
Staff happy and helpful.
Breakfast was hot , tasty and plenty of it.
Last time we stayed here it was a Hampton from Hilton.A faultless stay then but since having the Holiday Inn Express makeover it gives an immaculate impression.
Well done to all concerned at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope you will come back and stay with us again the next time you are in Shrewsbury

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding our staff, I will pass this on to them and they will be very pleased. We always strive to give the best Guest Service we can.

Also thanks for mentioning about the cleanliness within the hotel and also about the breakfast.Its nice to hear the service you received few years back is still the same.

Kind Regards

Samir Sharma
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with comfy bed, rooms spacious with everything you need and breakfast included. Free parking on site and easy to find. Would stay there again. Perfect on the outside of town and easy drive into town. If going into town best parking by the abbey cheaper and just a 5 minute walk into town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and I hugely appreciate your lovely comments regarding the location and the cleanliness of the hotel. Our team work really hard to give all our guests the best possible experience when they are staying with us, and I am glad you feel they excelled at this.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

the hotel has very helpful and friendly staff. the service we received was excellent the rooms were of a good size with all you need for a overnight stay.although the hotel is about 2 miles out of shrewsbury but a taxi ride into town costs about 5 pounds

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkishkeswickians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We value feedback from our guests as it helps us to continuously improve our product & services.We are pleased to read about your comments about the service you received from my staffs.

We hope to welcome you back when you are next in Shrewsbury

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

First class Hotel and service. Breakfast was amazing. Tasty and hot and plenty of it! Room spotless! Free and secure car park. Nice relaxing lounge with free WiWi.

Check in handled well. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5-star review of our hotel.You have really summed up nicely the characteristic of a Holiday Inn Express Hotel.Its really nice to see your good comments regarding the room,breakfast,staffs etc.

We are thrilled to hear the hotel met your expectations in every way to make your stay enjoyable; we will share your comments with our team members.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing