We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst food in Shrewsbury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having stayed several times at Holiday Inn hotels in London we thought that this 'Lite' version on the outskirts of Shrewsbury might suit us well as we had business further around the A5 on Saturday.

The room itself was clean and of a good size, although the staff seemed completely thrown by a request for a second key card as we were going to different locations on Saturday. The location, on a business park off the A5, we thought would be OK as they promised that there was a restaurant within the hotel.

There was but, oh dear, the food! Viewing the other diners meals we decided on 'breaded haddock', chips and peas as a reasonably safe option. When the meal eventually arrived the peas were as hard as bullets, the chips barely warm, and the 'haddock' was some sort of reconstituted fish encased in a thick impenetrable overcoat. The waiter seemed bemused to be asked the provenance of the fish, as no-one ever had before. A case I think of 'Long Time, No Sea' The kitchen were served by two whey faced youths whose only culinary skills appeared to be deciding which of a long row of microwave ovens to shove food into.

Breakfast the next morning was equally poor, with possibly (no it actually WAS come to think of it!) the worst cup of coffee I have ever had in my life. Limp 'croissants', dry bread, a choice of either grapefruit pieces or orange segments and doubtful 'muesli' packets thrown out in a lacklustre fashion really completed the picture.

Why oh why, when ingredients are actually the cheapest factor in a meal does this place scrape the bottom of the barrel in providing them. Perhaps because they know that after a long day people are reluctant to go elsewhere.

Though we had paid for a second night we just couldn't face the prospect and left a day early.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back - IF you have to go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback post of your stay with us recently. My team and I pride ourselves in providing our guests with the highest levels of service.First of all i would like to thank you for your comment reference room and the cleanliness. I am really sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion for the restaurant service.As i can see you are a regular guest with our brand and Holiday Inn but at Holiday Inn Express our dinner and breakfast options are limited and are according to our brand standard which is different from the normal Holiday Inn which cater for full service restaurant.From the quality point of view i will definitely look into it and will solve this issue. I assure you that this is not symptomatic of our usual high standards and for that I sincerely apologies. I have taken note of your feedback and will be discussing it with my team here. . Feedback such as yours allows us to improve continuously and I am very grateful to you for giving us an opportunity. With reference to your comments about the breakfast, I have taken it on board and will make sure it is up to our usual standard. I trust that you will visit us soon and allow us to redeem ourselves.

Warm regards,
Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a very nice, clean and basic hotel, as expected from Holiday Inn Express.
It was cheaper to stay over at this hotel, than it was to get a taxi back to Telford.
The breakfast wouldn't win any awards for food presentation, but it was fine.
Would stay again, for the convenience. It's right next to the A5/M54.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronniewhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us here at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, and that you were able to experience the high levels of guest service and hospitality that we provide. I have taken on board your comment about the breakfast and can guarantee yourself that i will have a look into it.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a convenient comfortable hotel perfectly placed for Shropshire, the Midlands and North Wales. The room was very comfortable and clean with all you need. The bathroom had an enormous shower, but no bath and the toiletries you need. The staff were helpful and friendly. The choice at breakfast was more limited than the Premier Inn I recently visited but again plenty for a start to the day. Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PARBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experiences with us.

It was great to read that you found our staff to be so helpful and friendly and that you were impressed with the room & breakfast. I have shared your comments with the team with thanks. Positive feedback is vital to our business, and to inform our staff that they continue to do a wonderful job.

We do hope to be able to welcome yourself and your colleagues back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a great overnight stay here. The check-in was efficient and friendly and help was offered with the luggage. We had a ground floor spacious room which was very well equipped. It is rare to have an iron and ironing board for example. The bathroom had all that we needed, with all shower gel, shampoo, conditioner etc. and the shower could be hand-held if you wished. The slight problem with the room heating was soon solved by the cheerful Duty Manager, Jack Bailey. The breakfast was buffet -style with a range of hot and cold dishes. It was noticeable that the Buffet was being constantly replenished, by the ever cheerful Jack, amongst others.
It would be helpful if the hotel could have some signage at the entrance to the Business Park as we had to search it out a bit, but it was well worth it and we would definitely stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review - I am delighted to read such wonderful comments and glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your breakfast at our hotel.

I am happy to read of your comments relating to our staff and specially Jack who looked after you very well., I am sure the team will be delighted to read your kind words and i will pass on your comment to them.

If you would like to return soon we would be glad to assist you with a booking, please contact us directly whenever you plan your next trip!

Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Situated on a business park, this hotel is a little tricky to find, the sat nav taking us to the entrance of a yet to be built extension to the park! But if you simply drive further into the business park, which is not very large, you will soon see the Holiday Inn logo on the building.

This was the first time we had stayed in this chain of hotels and were only booked for 1 night. We were impressed with the staff, the cleanliness, the modern well kept bedrooms and excellent shower in the room. The breakfast is simple but good quality and really is all you need to set you up for the day. Bearing in mind you can eat as much as you want, no one need go hungry and actually the choice was very good, with only 3 hot items but white/brown toast, rolls, pan au chocolate, croissants, good quality yoghurts in 3 flavours, fruit, orange and grapefruit segments and 4 cereals. Tea/coffees of various types, hot chocolate, cold milk - I defy anyone not to like this simple self service set up.

The only down side for this particular hotel was the matress was a little firm for our liking. For this reason and its location, which is not aimed at tourists and not near anything you could walk to, it gets 4 stars rather than 5, but I would not hesitate to stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the main road along side the business park. We had a room facing a minor road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic comments about your recent visit and we are very happy that the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I am proud to say that the team here at Shrewsbury focuses on first class service and attention to detail.Once again thanks for your lovely comments about the staffs and the choices at the breakfast.

I will take your comment on board reference the mattress and will ask my Maintenance Manager to have a look at it.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A bit tricky to find, but I don't have the best navigational skills. We stayed one night recently. The room was spacious and well-equipped and impeccably clean. It was very quiet and very comfortable. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. We would certainly stay there again. The breakfast was a buffet so you could eat as much or little as you liked and included in the cost of your stay. Parking was also very good. You would need a car as the Inn is outside Shrewsbury. It is a very good base to stay if you want to explore this part of the country and, of course, it is very close to God's own country - Wales!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the fact it is on an industrial estate. It is separate from the other busin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to learn that your overall stay at our hotel was very satisfactory. Its really nice to see your comment reference the room size and cleanliness,the staffs,the breakfast.

The team at HIEX Shrewsbury look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit

Regards ,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked a night very last minute and was very pleasantly surprised. A lovely clean, friendly hotel with the bonus of breakfast and wi fi. Nice clean bathroom and very good shower.
This would be my first choice every time I went to this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyRamsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank your for taking the time and posting a review of your experience at our hotel. I am glad you though the hotel was good value for money.

We take pride in providing an atmosphere that our guests love and will continue to find ways of improving. Please come back to see us again and we will continue to provide you a service that is Simple & Smart.Thanks for your lovely comment regarding the cleanliness ,the staffs,the free breakfast,the free wi-fi etc.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.

Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
1.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
643 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £51 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing