We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We wanted an overnight stopover and this hotel was perfect. The room was spacious with a nice powerful shower. The staff were very helpful and took notice of one or two minor maintenance issues. We enjoyed a very good meal at The Armoury on the river, just a short drive. A god night's sleep helped by the quiet location, good pillows and air con (it was a hot night). Breakfast was plentiful and relaxed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainbirdEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review,

I am happy to hear that we were up to your expectations
Your valuable comment will be shared with the team and necessary steps will be taken to improve even the smallest inconveniences.Nice to know that my staffs were able to resolve the small maintenance issues.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Kindest Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Easily located off the A5 ring road, outside of Shrewsbury, but on past experience, no bad thing.
Very efficient and helpful staff, good room with breakfast, free parking and wifi and a very reasonable rate. After using several much more expensive, but by no means better, alternatives in the past, I booked a second visit for the following week. Only problem is that you have to eat in Shrewsbury, plenty of places, but don't leave it too late as there is nowhere around the hotel that offers decent food late on. However, nice touch after a long evening's work was a pint at the hotel bar, that didn't cost the earth.
Great breakfast for an 'economy' hotel, loads of fruits yoghurt pastries etc, but only sausages, no bacon.

Room Tip: Because of where it is located all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinHood024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your 4 star rating on your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury.
We always look forward to hearing feedback on guest experience at our hotel as this help us improve the service we offer our guests. I am glad that we where good value for your stay. Your comments have been passed to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is handily placed off the A5 ring road on a small quiet industrial estate. The comfortable rooms were a good size with all the standard facilities, however, there is no bath but only a shower.The one gripe I have was that the sink did not have a cover over the outflow pipe and the chain had broken. The buffet breakfast was good, the hot food being scrambled egg, sausage and beans and usual continental selection. In the evening we ate out at Bistro Jacques, where on a Tuesday you get a 2 course meal and a bottle of wine each for £16.99. On a quiet day it took about 5-10 minutes to drive to the centre of Shrewsbury. The hotel had plenty of parking, don't forget to get the token from reception to exit. Overall a good place to stay when you are in Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Your comments have been passed to the team who was thrilled to learn that you had a great time with us.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back, in a near future.

Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for the first week in May whilst I trained with my guide dog franklin all the staff was amazing Debleena, Sarah, Neil and Russell to name a few they became like a second family to me and provided fantastic care nothing was too much to ask I can't thank them enough

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMinxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brief summary about your recent visit and we are very happy, that The Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I am proud to say that the team here at Shrewsbury focuses on first class service and attention to detail and thanks for mentioning few of them(exp-Debleena, Sarah, Neil and Russell )
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for two nights in early June for a short break in Shrewsbury area. Check in was performed smoothly and without fuss. Our double bedded room was comfortable, clean and well enough furnished for this class of hotel. Car parking was easy, secure and free. Breakfast on both mornings was more than adequate for this hotel type and the staff always happy to help.
What is not to like?
HIE hotels are not luxury but don't claim to be but do generally provide clean comfortable rooms at a fair price and this hotel did just that. It is only 5 mins from Shrewsbury Town centre by car but no particular facilities nearby.
If I had to pick fault it would be that the conditioner in the shower does not work in a dispenser. It is just too thick!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room facing the car park but it was very quiet both Sunday and Monday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Invent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and the nice comments you made regarding our staff and cleanliness of the room you stayed in,the breakfast,the car park to name the few.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel again in not too distant future.


Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed over at this hotel as we wanted to visit the vineyard at Wroxeter and the Roman ruins. Had a great two night stay and would recommend it. Rooms were clean and comfortable with tea and coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer. A very lovely olace to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I greatly value your kind words of appreciation of The Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location and the room scored high on your experience.

Team Shrewsbury hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this "budget" hotel as part of our return from Hay and a chance to see somewhere we had never been before. The hotel ticked all the boxes because of time of arrival, assured facilities and price. The room was spacious and well set up. Not budget cramped! Above all, the room was clean! The bed was two singles joined together; one mattress perfect, the other squidgy!
The location is not the most spectacular but easy to find and quiet. The location, and lack of local amenities/facilities keeps this hotel at a 4*.
The "free" wifi was very welcome and the "free" breakfast tasty and ample. The free newspaper was a good touch and very well received.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as part of a tour or journey pause or, as in our case, as a base to tour the stunning city of Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read your kind review of The Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury and the very kind compliments for the team.

Team Shrewsbury joins me in thanking you for your kind appreciation and it is heart warming to note that your expectations were satisfied and this experience fortified your faith in the brand. It is our earnest endeavor to continuously improve in all our services.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Regards,

Samir Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
1.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
655 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Address: Shrewsbury Business Park | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £49 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing