We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandra's Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Cross

The Golden Cross
Ranked #26 of 347 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$37
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sandra's Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent quality food at realistic prices, good service, and pleasant surroundings. Would definitely recommend

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    98
    34
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Night To Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I'd wanted to eat at the Golden Cross for years and this weekend I finally got round to it. It was well worth the wait and a truly memorable evening. The food was amazing, so hard to choose from the imaginative and creative menu. We were all impressed with our choices. The service was impeccable and helpful, answering our queries in a helpful and friendly manner. The setting is quirky but cosy and stylish. I can highly recommend it and will be eating there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Sat in the front restaurant for our food- I had the pulled pork which was strangely presented but I liked it! Really nice flavours... And my boyfriend had the fish and chips which looked amazing and apparently tasted great (They weren't there long enough for me to taste! Haha). Service was prompt though the waitress was a bit miserable... It was quite pricey though we were full at the end of the meal- too full for dessert which is strange for us! Cosy restaurant with modern furnishing and comfy chairs- relaxing and lovely lovely :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“One of the best for fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Living in Shrewsbury we are privileged to be able to frequent this lovely inn quite often.
Whenever friends visit we are always proud to take them to the restaurant where fine food is always guaranteed. The setting and service never fail either!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnkluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely plan to go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Lots of nice things on the menu. My meal was great, really tasty. Good value and nice, friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Cross also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Golden Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing