We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wine appreciation lesson.

Great introduction to an appreciation of different types of wine. Most enjoyable and recommended... read more

Reviewed 12 October 2020
Sandra M
,
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Cheese and wine pairing

We finally got to attend the cheese and wine pairing evening at the Lion Hotel, after it was... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2020
victoriaswift269
,
Telford, United Kingdom
Read all 72 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Shrewsbury
from US$10.20
More Info
from US$25.12
More Info
from US$25.12
More Info
from US$19.54
More Info
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
71
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
71
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lion hotel a great evening wine tasting charcuterie wset level great introduction an excellent teacher teaching style answered every question christmas gift tasted wines great fun gary knowledge exam bluff tutorial
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2019

My friend surprised me with a birthday gift for a full day in June 2019 with Shropshire Wine School, as we are both keen drinkers of wine and wanted to learn a little bit more about the grapes, region and of course the tasting and the drinking. A three course meal was also included in this package.

We had such a wonderful day we promised ourselves to do enrol on the 8 Week course.

Well our Week 1 was about Australia & New Zealand Tasting it was a nice relaxing atmosphere at The Lion Hotel. Presentation was easy to understand by Gary Carter the host, he was polite clear spoken and very informative. The wine quality was very good and the price of the bottle. I was quite surprised of the taste of the New Zealand wines as I always favoured Australian. It was a good introduction to International wines.

I am looking forward to Week 2 South America, Chile & Argentina + How to serve and store wine.

I will keep you posted.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 60BET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryShrewsbury, Owner at Shropshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

I'm very pleased that you are back again, the 8 week course is a great follow up to the Saturday event. New Zealand makes some lovely wines and I'm sure you will also enjoy Chile and Argentina next week. See you on Friday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019

Attended an excellent Australia & New Zealand tasting at the Lion Hotel. No matter how much you think you know there is always that you will learn from Gary's tutoring.
The wine selection was necessarily broad in order to give an idea of the range of wines available from this region. The wine quality was pretty good and bottle prices were pitched at the mid to upper end of the supermarket price spectrum.
I did this as a standalone event but I think it was also week 2 or 3 of an 8 week course.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Garyc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryShrewsbury, Owner at Shropshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2019

Thanks for your feedback Gary. It was great to have someone asking some interesting questions in the room and you obviously have a good wine knowledge yourself. See you on the Sherry and Tapas event on November 8th.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2019

A really great 3 week course. Gary is very professional but also very approachable and created a really great teaching environment perfect for learning. Can’t wait to start WSET3.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank TOM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryShrewsbury, Owner at Shropshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2019

Thanks Tom, WSET is great to teach and really explores wines very well. See you on Level 3 in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

The evening was billed as a Charcuterie and Wine Workshop. Having really enjoyed a similar evening pairing wine and cheese we arrived with high expectations and were certainly not disappointed. Such a pleasant way to spend an evening and we came away saying "when can we do this again "

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank PandP719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryShrewsbury, Owner at Shropshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2019

Thanks you for your feedback, charcuterie and wine is a favourite of mine and always puts me in mind of some lovely holidays in France and Italy. Such a pleasure to run this event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

I took the 3-day WSET Level II course and examination, and Gary was an excellent tutor - very well-informed, a lovely light teaching style, and he had chosen an excellent panel of wines to represent the different styles we were learning about (including some very good quality ones). Although this is a professional qualification, I am not 'in the trade', and was only doing it to increase my knowledge and enjoyment of wine (as were most of the other people on the course). Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank capnbob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryShrewsbury, Owner at Shropshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2019

Thanks for your kind words, it was the first time out for the new WSET Level 2 syllabus and it was a joy to teach. I hope to see you again in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews