We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another top notch visit to the good Life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Good Life

The Good Life
Ranked #9 of 347 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: Quality, freshly prepared vegetarian and vegan food in relaxed surroundings. Wine supplied by Tanners Wines. Families welcome.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another top notch visit to the good Life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A visit to Shrewsbury would not be complete without a lunch at this cafe. Very friendly staff,central location and you really are spoilt for choice.the special risotto was fantastic, but nothing could top the divine pecan pie! Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimbus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    66
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Called in for a light lunch , but found the food of an average quality , service and staff nice but having microwave food just didn't seem right

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Shrimpo1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charity night - a brilliant success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

For the second year running The Good Life hosted a fundraising party for The Extra Guest charity last week. It was a brilliant success and we raised £375 for our end-hunger projects. Our thanks go to TGL's wonderful chef, Joel and his brother George, for providing a magnificent hot and cold buffet for over 40 guests. Everyone enjoyed the evening and commented on the excellent food. There was a great of choice of main courses, salad accompaniments and desserts and servings were generous. (Even some of the carnivores said it was one of the best meals they'd ever had!). Great value too - only £15 per head, 40% of which went to the charity. We can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank myrrnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This cafe is just of the main road, signed down an alley way. You might walk past it if you're not on the look out. I had goat cheese and vegetable lasagne with coleslaw, very tasty. My husband had the curried nut loaf with all the salads, home made chutney was included with the nut loaf, also very yummy. The young man serving us was very patient while we made our choice and asked lots of questions. When we wanted water to drink with our meal he offered tap water at no cost, I nice gesture. We had an early lunch at 12.30 and timed it just right, as there was a steady queue and the place filled up fast. It's such a treat to find a nice vegetarian place to eat. We were too full for desert but everyone around tucked into them with gusto. Next time we are in the area we will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Still very good - but microwave spoils it a bit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stopped in here for a Saturday lunch. I fancied something hot, so it is a shame that apart from jacket potatoes everything ends up being stuck in a microwave to heat it. So doesn't exactly come "fresh from the hob or oven" so to speak. Salad choices are still excellent and very tasty, and I can't help feeling good every time we eat here, just a shame the "ding" of the microwave is a constant, and there is never any air of atmosphere - just in eat and out really.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShropsFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Good Life also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Good Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing