We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorsome, Fresh, and Friendly”
Review of The Good Life

The Good Life
Ranked #11 of 352 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: Quality, freshly prepared vegetarian and vegan food in relaxed surroundings. Wine supplied by Tanners Wines. Families welcome.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flavorsome, Fresh, and Friendly”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A couple of steps off the Wyle Cop into the peace of Barracks Passage and The Good Life haven. I had a warm welcome, and food that was really too good to be described as healthy, whole or vegetarian. I was tempted away from my normal cheese sandwich to baked potato, and two delicious salads. Real shame I’ve passed this by so many times in the past without realising. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    66
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a vegetarian to enjoy this restaurant!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I'm not a vegetarian - just a fan of good, fresh food and this ticks all the boxes. Good choice, friendly staff and very tasty food. It's been open for years - I first came here over 20 years ago - and there's a reason why it has lasted so long. So don't be put off if you're usually a meat eater - you won't miss it if you eat here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service and food, back on form”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My vegetarian friends love going here, but I’ve been put off returning since a rather disappointing visit last August, but my friends were insistent they wanted to return, and I‘m so glad they persuaded me.

The Good Life is back on form, great food, very friendly service, good value for money, and love the atmosphere too.

If you love vegetarian food you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty vegetarian”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As a frequent visitor to Shrewsbury, there is really only one choice when it comes to lunch...what to choose from the Good Life's counter selection today? I wouldn't eat anywhere else, as everything on the menu is home made on the premises and I have never been disappointed yet. I had the quiche, which was delicious and a selection of salads. I'm already planning my return visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great lunch yet again”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

While in town this week called in for lunch, there's always a friendly welcome from the staff, and a great choice of freshly prepared food. I went for the takeaway option which the staff are happy to sort for you, and you do get a good portion. The desserts... well what can I say, you must go and try one for yourself.
A great place to do lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shropboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Good Life also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Good Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing