We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sparrows

Sparrows
Ranked #105 of 343 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
shrewsbury shropshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“lovely for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had occasion to visit sparrows on a monday and it was full, and very busy. That said we didnt have to wait long to be served. I had a mackeral salad with beetroot and new potatoes with a horseradish dressing, which I asked for on the side. It was fresh and totally delicious and it looked good too. My friend had the beef pie with new potaoes and freshly cooked vegetables. The pastry was to die for and the beef was succulent and very tasty ( because I did try a little bit) however the vegetables were so undercooked they had to be sent back , they returned, having cooked them some more. But they were still too hard to eat. We gave up then .I presume it was because they were so busy and I also noticed that other diners had left their vegetables too. So we were'nt the only ones. We rounded our lunch off with a very nice cup of coffee and a pot of tea. Again faultless.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daybreak999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing perfect for a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited The Sparrow Cafe on a few occasions and think I should of reviewed before now , it is amazing , the fresh food is fantastic, it is great value and you know when ever your there you will be impressed with not only the service , but the way the food is presented , I would say it has to be right up there with one of the best places for food to eat in the day for Shrewsbury if you want to go where you can truly enjoy food then check out The Sparrow Cafe

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Standone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SPARROWS Cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

On various visits to this place found that the farm shop and history about the area was excellent.
But the cafe sparrows has much to be desired the cakes are very nice and refreshments service is a little laxed and over priced quite noisy when busy ...6 out of ten i would give this cafe

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Visited this cafe on a midday sunday. The weather was nice enough for us to sit outside. Me and my partner both hot chocolate and scones with jam and cream. Both were really nice.

Watch out for the farm cat that likes to sit on the tables and have a bit of a lunch whilst you pamper it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Took an elderly relative out for lunch. Have been to Sparrows several times before and have never been disappointed. Place was very busy but we were found seats straightaway. Service was polite and efficient. I had a chicken salad and my companion ham and chips. Sweets were also very acceptable! All dishes were nicely presented and delicious. It's nice to return somewhere and find standards haven't dropped.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sparrows also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Sparrows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing