We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent day out”

Hawkstone Park Follies
Ranked #5 of 75 things to do in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What more could one want on a warm day in May,,,,,,,beautiful countryside, historical interest, wonderful plants and trees, fantastic views and fun, fun, fun!! The two boys aged 7 & 9 thoroughly enjoyed their folly experience......hiding, climbing and exploring the immaculately kept park, the dark and complex caves and tunnels, they felt like Indiana Jones as they climbed through the cleft and passed over the high narrow bridge.
The park staff were all both very friendly and helpful.
Overall the Follies entertained both children and us adults for hours and would certainly recommend highly to all with a sense of adventure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Inyourface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at Hawkstone Park Follies, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We're pleased to hear that the Follies proved to be a great place for your boys, and that that you came on a day of good weather, too.

We hope your adventures with us can continue soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    174
    25
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

it took about 3-4 hours to see all walking through the woods , rhododendrons were out beautiful colours ,then 151 steps approx to the top of the monument well worth the climb the view was magnificent .plenty hand rails , the cafe was good value . toilet very clean

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank piran1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at Hawkstone Park Follies, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're glad that you found your journey worthwhile, and enjoyed the views from the monument. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed the tearoom.

We hope that you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderful scenery and rhodies magnificent!! Lots of steps but strong rails everywhere to help us oldies along. Really enjoyed it! Recommend it highly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at Hawkstone Park Follies, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad that you got to see the Rhodedendrons, as they are a much loved spectacle. It's also great to hear that you felt safe and reassured on your journey through the grounds.

Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tremendous day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent venture well worth the drive. Challenging yet rewarding hike through wonderful woods and scenery. Very good value for money. Good facilities of toilets, tea room picnic areas

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at Hawkstone Park Follies, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderul review, we're glad that your journey was well rewarded, and that you found it all to be money well spent.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Real adventure !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wow what a terrific find. Recommended by friends and we took two 10 year olds. It seemed expensive to get in at £23 but we soon realised why and it was well worth it. It took around 3 hours to see all we could until our legs gave in from the steps !

The cafe is super and we loved the toilets in the woods.
Super fun day out !! Unusual and different and a real stunning adventure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D0nna34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at Hawkstone Park Follies, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks for your review - we are glad that your friends told you about us and that you found your visit value for money.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the cafe and also enjoyed your 'super fun day out'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawkstone Park Follies also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Hawkstone Park Follies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing