We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn
Ranked #28 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Fantastic value for money, great pub grub, very central and a car park which was very useful. It is clean, quiet and a bargain at £35! Relatives slept in the family room and were very happy. The staff were exceptionally helpful and although its not 'posh' it's an excellent base for a weekend break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 495Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    42
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
14
52
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Staying at the nearby Oxon Hall Touring Park, we decided to eat her one evening as a previous reviewer had commented on its dog friendliness. Our pooch was welcomed with biscuits (and 2nd helpings!) and we enjoyed vegetarian lasagne with chips and peas and glass of wine. Very tasty meal and good value. Also has lovely sun terrace with good views.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I booked in here for a hopefully restful couple of nights, while on a break from work. Stayed about 8 years ago with my daughter in a family room. Had a pleasant stay then. This time rather disappointing. Was given room no 5. Up some steps from the car park. An annex at the back of the pub. Initially was pleased to have my own front door. But... there was constant noise from early in the morning till pub chucking out time. People coming and going in the car park, from the kitchen which opened onto the car park, the birds chakking away at the cat, and from various other pub activities. The walls were thin, window single glazed, absolutely no noise prevention at all. Also a busy main road in front of hotel.

Such a shame, because the room itself was pleasant. A decent size, comfortable bed, decent carpet and good size bathroom with bath and shower, and constant hot water. Only down side was no wardrobe. Just a few hangers in the corner. All nice and clean, although an unpleasant smell from the drains when I first arrived. Tea making tray and kettle there too. I didn't use the pub itself to eat or drink, so can't comment on that.

Overall a pleasant stay in Shrewsbury, but a disturbed sleep. Guess if you use the pub as a base for a boozy weekend away would be fine. V handy for town centre with off road parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just come back from a weekend visit to Shrewsbury and would definitely recommend this inn. The rooms may not be luxurious but are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are very good and the 2 evening meals we had were well cooked and great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A friend we were staying with in Frankwell took us here on Sat evening and we really enjoyed the food, fantastic prices for these days and well cooked, my husband liked the choice of beer and the price and we had a bottle of their house wine for £9, brill value. Nice licensees, friendly staff and good atmosphere all round. Outside area very pleasant for smokers too, only downside car park very difficult to manoevre, but we walked so did not bother us. Would deffo visit again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We booked this on the day of travel and at £50 per room per night it was very competetive for accomodation in Shrewsbury. Upon arrival we were given a large room at the front of the Inn, as this was on a busy main road we asked if we could change to a quieter room. The staff were very helpful and showed us the remaining two rooms they had left to choose from. We settled for a quieter room at the back of the property. The location was good, just a short 5 minute walk from the centre in a quiter area of the town. Through out our two night stay we found the staff polite and very helpfull, the Inn it self was always busy and had a good selection of food and drinks. Although we didnt eat at the Inn the food looked good and reasonably priced.
Over all, we will definately be going back to stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely quieter at the back of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

What shear luck on our behalf, been given advise on a dog friendly restaurant in Shrewsbury, we went out one evening whilst caravanning at Oxon Hall Touring Park ( excellent site ), to a place called the Amoury - only got as far as the menu on the board outside, it was sooooo expensive - Corn Beef Hash £ £ £ £
Well , a lovely lady overheard my gasp at the price and suggested we try another dog friendly establishment just over the bridge and across the roundabout ! - Off we go, took us about 8 minutes to reach - Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn - whoooo hoooo.
What a lovely local pub this is.
They welcomed our pooches - Harry, Alfie and Jakey - with open arms, bowl of water and doggy biscuits and a fuss. All they wanted really.
We ordered our meal - inside the pub of course - no ' Sorry you have dogs you have to eat outside !' We took our seat at the table INSIDE - the pooches are well behaved so all were happy.

Oh my goodness - the meal - absolutely lovely - and I really mean that.
We only had to wait 10 - 15 munites before it was on our table - piping hot and delicious.
The attention we received off the staff was beyond expectation - so good we returned 4 days later for another session.

Now - if you do decide to make a visit to this lovely pub for food - please please choose the Homoemade Trifle for dessert, never tasted a trifle so lovely. We were even recommending it to other people eating in there.

Well to finish off this review, all I can say is we will definately be returning to Ye Olde Bucks Inn, I just hope after reading this review you dont all turn up at the same time and we wont be able to get a seat ha ha.

Dave & Fionna - Wrexham ( Harry the Bichon & Alfie the Lhasa ) & Friends

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Fionna2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.1 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#14 of 16 in Shrewsbury
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hambrook House
Hambrook House
#4 of 55 in Shrewsbury
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#12 of 55 in Shrewsbury
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#20 of 55 in Shrewsbury
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn

Property: Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn
Address: 53 Frankwell, Shrewsbury SY3 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bucks Head Hotel Shrewsbury
Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing