We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
41
44
10
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
44
10
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun terracethe publovely traditional pubbeer gardencooked mealwelsh bridgeb btown centreprivate car parkplenty of hot waterthank you for a lovelybath and showerpeasbit datedan evening mealcomfortable bedsfrankwell
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Called in here for lunch a few weeks back. Been past loads of time and always wondered what it was like. Had a great meal of tasty gammon and chips served really quickly. No complaints at all about the food. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a very last minute wedding reception to plan and locate. As ye old bucks head is so near to the registry office it was ideally located. The spread they put on was imaginative and suited all tastes and was excellent value for money. The beer garden and sun terrace lent themselves to being part of the photographs andif it hadn't been a bit cool we would have done so. One of the guests stayed overnight and was well pleased with the accomodation and food. Well done and thank you very much. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. (this was back in September and apologise for not placin the review sooner)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Inn,Great location for town centre,warm welcome,warm & clean room,full breakfast,car park,Fantastic value,I've read some negative reviews about the Inn which is crazy,would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was disappointed by Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn. Granted, it was cheaper than the competition at £50 per double room per night, but I had expected more personality and attention to details.

Pros:
- clean in the important places - sheets, toilet, shower, sink (but see below)
- bed was comfortable
- breakfast was cheap (but see below)
- nice elephant shape made with towels on the bed when we arrived (but see below)

Cons:
- stank of fried food (we were above the kitchen)
- shower was a trickle (bath tap pressure much better for some reason so can't be due to heavy usage at that time of day) and took 5 mins for hot water to reach it.
- a closer look revealed a lack of thorough cleaning. We had to move some furniture to make space for an airbed for our son and I was slight reluctant even to let him sleep so close to the floor as all the corners were filthy. When I was then prompted to look elsewhere it wasn't much better.
- breakfast croissants were dry and unappetising and the sausages were absolutely revolting. They were clearly simply the cheapest available. I wished I had gone elsewhere and spent more for less quantity.
- lack of attention to detail and care in the room setup. e.g. lack of sockets. They were mostly behind furniture and inaccessible - the great full length mirror had no socket anywhere near it to plug in the supplied hairdryer... has anyone actually thought about this rather than just placed the required items in the room?
- The bar on the top of the skylight window frame was hanging off by one strip of metal - and this was where it was recommended that we put our child to sleep. Maintenance required.
- The same window did not have an effective blind.
- Blinds on all windows were very grubby.
- One mug had a crack through it that then leaked boiling tea all over the place. Just not noticed by anyone in advance.
- Only one bath towel (3 people in the room - double room but they knew we were bringing a child) - despite 5 tiny hand towels being arranged to look like an elephant on the bed! go figure...

I wouldn't recommend this as a place to stay unless ALL you want is cheap (which is why this is not a 1 rating) - and there appear to be other options for the same price. This place has such potential due to the building, but I was disappointed at the lack of management attention to detail and the lack of imagination that could turn this from a cheap place to just lay your head into somewhere stylish and pleasureable to stay in.

"Could do (a lot) better".

Room Tip: Not the rooms above the kitchen. Avoid rooms 9/10.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just spent 3 nights here and the experience was very pleasant, and just 'as advertised' on the website. Rooms were small but comfortable, and facilities very good. The staff were all extremely helpful and could not have done more to assist. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews