We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Church with a "Wow" factor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St.Chads Church

St.Chads Church
Ranked #8 of 75 things to do in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular Church with a "Wow" factor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Even if you are not religious there is something about visiting places which have a "Wow" factor and this building does have it. It is unusual in its design which is part of its charm. If you like Liverpool's R.C. Cathedral then this is its Georgian equivalent. If you visit this church please make sure you pop into the Dingle Gardens across the road in the park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Round Church not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

A must during your visit to Shrewsbury. Overlooking the Quarry Park this is a splendid example of a "round church" not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulineretirednhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Interesting chirvh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Spent wonderful day in Shrewsbury and found this church most interesting . It was nice to see a different style of church as it surprised me that it was round.

Good history regarding the building of this st chads on a different site to the original one, I won't spoil the story but Pls take time to read.

We arrived just as the choir was starting practice for evensong so we didn't stay long but enjoyed immensely

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolStevieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A church with a good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We spent a short time looking round this very unique and welcoming church. The interior is very old and quite special. There appears to be a lot going on in the church both missions wise and musically. We would love to return and attend a concert here

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swind0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, round sanctuary. Lovely spirit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My friend and I had only a few minutes to visit St. Chad's. It was a Sunday morning and the choir was practicing with a string quartet. It was wonderful!!!! Very kind and friendly people.

Be sure to visit the cemetery and look for Ebenezer Scrooge's tombstone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chalcuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St.Chads Church also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to St.Chads Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing